Help me with translations for my book on Permavillage and with language practice in Namur, Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    620

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello my name is Patrick and I live in Namur (in Wallonia, 60km from Brussels) with my 13 y.o. daughter. This year, we do home schooling. I am the initiator of the Permavillage movement (Permavillage = village + permaculture).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you French, how to create a permavillage from scratch, permaculture (rainwater, edible plants, zones, etc), how to make a website and youtube videos, php and mysql programming, and, why not, fencing!

  • Help

    Help

    I wrote a book about how to create a Permavillage and I need some help translating it or parts of it into various languages.

    My daughter and I also need language practice: my daughter in English, and myself in your native language, whatever it is!

    If you are vegan/vegetarian I would appreciate it if you could also teach me about vegan/vegetarian cooking.

    I ask for 3 hours of "work" per day, distributed as follows:

    - Monday: in the afternoon, 3h conversation: in your native language with me, in English with my daughter
    - Tuesday: at your leisure, 3 hours of translation
    - Wednesday: in the afternoon, 3h conversation: in your native language with me, in English with my daughter
    - Thursday: at your leisure, 3 hours of translation
    - Friday: in the morning, 3 hours of translation

    The rest of the time, you are free to visit Namur. You can also work 6h of translation on Thursday and have a whole day free on Tuesday, or vice-versa.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a small house on 4 levels. On level zero: my bedroom and a small fencing training room; on level 1: kitchen, private WC; level 2: my daughter's room and bathroom; level 3: your room (with bed, small table and chair, cupboard, small fridge, electric kettle, chemical toilet).

    The specific layout of the house has two consequences: my daughter has expressly asked to host only girls; and we ask you not to return home after 10pm (or else you would wake everyone up on the way up to your room).

    Stay is maximum 5 days (4 nights), because the mother of my daughter comes on weekends to visit her, and therefore your room will be occupied (your arrival can be any time from Monday from 10am, and departure on Friday after lunch at the latest).

    Breakfast (9h-10h): semi-integral bread, organic butter and jam, coffee. Lunch (12h30-13h30): mixed salad, pasta, or a sandwich, or whatever you want to cook, and water. Dinner (17h-18h): aperitif, mixed salad, vegetable and cereal dish, bread, water, wine. I always have eggs and cheese, I rarely buy meat or fish, but I do sometimes. I buy nearly 100% organic food (the Belgian supermarket Bioplanet is 8 minutes walk away).

    Please note that we cannot accept smokers of any kind, even if you smoke outside, as my daughter has a genetic respiratory disease, and the smallest molecule of smoke is harmful to her.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 15 minutes walk from Namur railway station and a few minutes walk from the centre of Namur.

    - Computer Museum Nam-Ip - IT Museum
    - EnigmaLock: 60 minutes to regain your freedom
    - Félicien Rops Museum
    - LES BATELIERS – MUSEUMS OF ARCHAEOLOGY AND DECORATIVE ARTS
    - Moutarderie Bister (Bister Mustard Mill): Guided tours and artisanal making
    - Musée Africain (African Museum)
    - Musée de la Fraise (strawberry museum)
    - Museum of Archaeology
    - Parfumerie Guy Delforge: A creation centre unrivalled in Europe!
    - Provincial Museum of the Ancient Arts of Namur – Treasure of Oignies (TreM.a)
    - The Citadel of Namur: Not to be missed! 2000 years of history

    Finally, to make sure you have read my entire profile, can I ask you to indicate "LU" at the beginning of your e-mail? A big thank you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours/day, 5 days max.

Your host Patrick
Small garden
Your own bedroom
Living/dining room
Host ref number: 611482223592