Join us for some help on our home in Crete, Greece

  • Favourited 207 times
  • Last activity: 14 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple looking for help in the garden, , general DIY, painting the house and laying a new pavement area for a swing seat
    . We are easy going and love animals, we have 3 border collie dogs and 3 cats and we also do fostering for the local dog rescue center, so an animal lover is essential!
    There is lots of work in the garden trimming trees and strimming the grounds and weeding.

    My husband is skilled so just need a bit of muscle to help out, but some knowledge of DIY would be a bonus.
    Hopefully we will get started on the workshop this winter, so mixing of concrete is something we will be doing.....
    So if you fancy helping out please get in touch!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Happy to have either experienced or novices as we are happy to teach new skill to those who are keen.
    We are in a typical greek country village but only 10 mins by car to the beach.

  • Help

    Help

    We have bought a house in Crete and it needs painting.....the garden needs weeding and trees pruning, and we are also dry stone wall building around the outside area.

    Jobs needing doing are
    Gardening strimming and weeding, some pruning
    Painting some outside walls and hall inside
    At last we are starting to build a barn, have been planning it for 3 years but had to work on the house first.....so looking for strong people happy to do heavey work and mix concrete for the base...

    We are looking for people now up to the end of march, maybe April, it depends if we have bookings for that month, and again from November onwards.....possibly able to host the last 10 days of october too, depends if we get a booking for our rental

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Acomadation would be an en suite bedroom in our house. Meals will be provided and a lift to and from the beach would be available for your time off. There are a couple of bikes for your use if you fancy going off cycling in your time off.
    There are busses from the main road to the wonderful city of Chania, and also to Rethymno and Heraklion

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A lift is offered to the beach on your time off and also to the bus stop for onward travel to Chania or Heraklion or Rethymno. There are 2 bikes you can use if you fncy setting out on your own......
    There is a bar in the village with locals who dont speak english so a good opportunity to try out the language. This bar is within walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of parking here so no problem wih campervans

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 768424549248

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Help our family with daily life and explore unique culture in Athens, Greece
Family in the countryside of Laconia, Southern Peloponnese, looking for someone handy with bikes and gardening, Greece.