Help me set up my vegetable garden and help with renovation projects for my house in Ferreira Do Zezere, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I packed in the rat race some time ago and have been renovating my old house here in beautiful sunny Central Portugal. It’s pretty much finished but there is always something to do. I'm in my 50’s. I'm here full-time and love my life here In my house and garden. The forest is close by where I love to walk my dogs. I’m easy going and prefer people who are a bit like my self who are conscious and nature loving. It’s good if you enjoy their own company and don’t need Constant entertaining. I’m sensitive to people’s energy so it’s important you are happy in yourself and have a zest for life Without the need for material things to make you happy.
    Im smack bang in the middle of Portugal about 25 mins from Tomar. about 1 and a half hours by train from Lisbon and 2 and a half from Porto. Prefare couples But happy to consider singles if the vibe feels right.

    I recently suffered a fall and hurt my back as not as mobile at the moment so need help in the garden and with walking the dogs

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a small village where the locals stick to the traditional way of doing things. Nice cafe culture too where you can practice some Portuguese if you choose. I meditate daily and practice mindfulness so if you need help with meditation I can maybe help. Also beautiful walks in nature as I’m next to a forest.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is nearly finished now but still there are bits to do, like finish making my vegtable plot, Weeding, gardening, general tidy up, wire up outdoor electric lights as well as other bits and pieces. creative stuff too when the other stuff is in hand. .I'm always happy to listen to your ideas on things that need doing or could be done. 2 or 3 heads are better than one.
    I'm friendly, tidy, easy going but also like my own space and I like people who can work on their own infinitive who are easy going and of a happy disposition.

    Happy to take people last minute if I can accommodate.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large double room in an annex next to the house with a bathroom next door to it. We'd share the bathroom during the day but you'd have sole use in the evenings. The kitchen is is the main house and we'd share meal making and washing up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be good if you had a little experience and if you are applying I would like you to tell me a bit about yourself if you contact me.
    I could take a one week placement but I am open to much longer visits but only if the first week goes fantastic.
    There is a couple of cafe's within walking distance, a large shop that sells almost everything and a bus stop on the corner that will take you to larger towns. We are 25 minutes from Tomar. If you had a car it would be preferable if you wanted to see the sites but I'm happy to take you out once in a while too. The bus will get you around but there are only a few a day. Nearest train station is half an hours drive In Tomar from us but we can pick you up when you arrive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I’ve got a good internet signal.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Small camper could be parked on the drive

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

Where I go daily to walk the dogs





Host ref number: 14421557694b