Help restore the garden at my family home in the bush only an hour from Sydney, Australia and enjoy beautiful beaches & forest



Favourited 38 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  • Description


    Hi, my name is Caitlin. I am living in my family home working to get the garden & house back to good condition after a period of neglect. I am a conscious dance teacher, art therapist & artist. I love time in nature & wild places, practicing calligraphy yoga/qi gong, playing guitar, singing, dancing, making things & sharing good food with friends & loved ones.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is such a beautiful part of Australia with the mountain backdrop & the ocean so close (great surfing!), surrounded by rainforest and lots of beautiful birds but still with easy access to the big city of Sydney just over an hour away by train. Work with me in the garden and learn about local plants. I can teach you calligraphy yoga/qi gong and you can come with me to Sydney for my movement meditation classes if you wish!

  • Help


    I am looking for help with gardening, weeding, planting and forest restoration, whether you have skills or experience in that doesn't matter, but if you do, great! I also welcome anyone with building, construction or handy skills to help with some small building projects such as re-grouting the bathroom, fitting door handles, installing cupboard doors, hanging doors, painting. Some cleaning help would be great too, but not essential!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Your own room with single bed, a desk & a chest of drawers. I will be making space for a couple soon too with a double bed in their own room. We share the bathroom with bath & shower & seperate toilet. Breakfast will be self serve with food provided & lunch & dinner will be provided. Food will be mostly gluten-free & vegetarian with some chicken & fish if you like to eat that, and I can cater for vegan or other dietary needs too. My sister & her partner live next door & visit sometimes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to explore locally if you love walking, nature & the beach close by or further afield to all the sights & events of Sydney and not so far (30 mins) for the local arts & culture in the regional centre of Wollongong. The beach is a 15 minute walk from here, 7 minutes walk to the train, and there are shops & cafes just a 5-10 min train ride away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or some similar arrangement that suits us both - can be flexible

Host ref number: 756518652185