Explore the beautiful Bohemian countryside, visit Prague, discover castles and historical places and relax by a big lake

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 472 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    75  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Experience traditional Czech life, learn about the culture, food and ways, visit many historical places, castles and medieval towns all close by, plus we are just 45km from Prague with excellent public transport available direct from our village. We are just a short distance from one of the biggest recreational lakes in CZ which has sandy and grass beaches, water sports and clean water swimming, as well as bars, cafes and restaurants. We are a British-Czech couple with a 10 year old daughter and our home is a renovated 180 year old traditional stone built farmhouse set in a lovely, mature large garden situated in a tiny village set amongst beautiful rural countryside of rolling hills, forests, farmland. We all speak English and this is the main language we use in our home.

    Close by are other traditional villages and a small town and we are ideally located to visit many fascinating historical ancient towns and cities as well as castles, popular recreational venues and Prague of course. There is public bus transport from our village linking all areas or to the nearest main railway station 10km away in the town. We have archery equipment for use at our house, behind it is newly made tennis court and childrens play area, close by is a rope park, golf course, horse riding, river kayaking/rafting, water sports on the lake such as wind surfing, paddle boarding, canoeing, boating, etc. Thirty minutes away is the biggest Water Park in the Czech Republic - check out our photos!

    Our house is very big with areas we never used so we are converting parts into self contained apartments to rent as holiday lets - one finished last year ad two more for the 2019 season. We like to keep the historical nature of the farmhouse combined with modern features and include up-cycled old items of furniture and ornaments which previous volunteers have helped with. We are further developing the gardens, volunteers helped create a big herb garden and we are planning a two story shelter with sundowner terrace this year, enlarged organic fruit and vegetable garden and hopefully get started on a tree house sleep over room high up in an old walnut tree. We welcome future volunteers to get involved with all these things!

    STAY IN OUR OTHER HOME IN THE UK - there is the opportunity for volunteers at our Czech home to also go stay at our home in the UK, situated in the beautiful county of Yorkshire, close to the historical Viking city of York, the UNESCO Lake District, Yorkshire Moors and Dales, Pennine Mountains, fabulous coastline with Victorian seaside resorts and fishing harbours, the vibrant city of Leeds a few minutes away and much more. The house is ten minutes from Leeds Bradford airport [usually 40GBP direct flights from Prague] and volunteers can go there when we are not using it and have it to themselves.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are always happy to meet fellow travellers and share experiences - we ourselves travelled extensively throughout South East Asia, the Middle East, North Africa, sub-Saharan Africa, Europe and various other places - and we love to learn about places we have not been to. Likewise we love to chat about our passion for producing travel videos and vlogging.

    Foodies - we are very interested in world cuisines, are experts at Moroccan cooking (where we spent two years) and Thai food, from where we just returned. We love to learn new recipes and techniques and look forward to volunteers sharing their knowledge of food and experiences. Currently my wife is firmly focusing on healthy eating and we are experimenting with new recipes including yogurt making and sour dough bread baking in a wood fired outdoor oven.

    My wife has takjen up yoga and together with our daughter are very active, love trekking, horse riding and water sports - all available from our home.

    We are pleased to accept children accompanied by at least one parent and our home and area provide a safe environment. Our daughter speaks English and Czech, plus a little Spanish and French and likes to be active - she has a little tree house, 20mt zip line, climbing wall, large tent in the garden for playing and overnighting, as well as a large bedroom/playroom. We decided to take her out of the state school system to improve and widen her education and life experience - she goes to a private Montessori school when at home in CZ and when away is home schooled. Adults and kids can go with her to her school to introduce themselves and their experiences to the other kids who also learn English.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers to help with one or more of the following tasks:

    a) tidying up the gardens, helping with the vegetable garden, levelling some areas and making paved surfaces

    b) interior decorating (painting) walls, ceilings and window frames, etc.

    c) floor and wall tiling

    d) building rustic furniture and up-cycling old items

    e) re-pointing the exterior stonework of our house ground floor only- the house is constructed of random shaped pieces of natural stone (as can be seen in our photo of the house), it was originally all covered in a coating of cement rendering which we removed to expose the stonework. The mortar (cement) is crumbly and we need it removing from between the stones to a depth of about 5cm and then re-placing with new mortar. Please note: there is no high up work as we only need the ground floor walls doing up to a height of around two metres and we also have a professional platform if you prefer not to work from a stepladder or ladder.

    f) we require some new websites constructing without using off-the-shelf templates

    g) helping with housework and preparing meals

    h) improving our spanish and or french language skills

    i) introducing us to new world cuisines

    j) suggest what you can do!

    We expect volunteers to help 4 hours per day for demanding tasks or 5 hours per day for light tasks excluding meal times and breaks x 5 days a week and then take 2 days off - but we can pre-agree on terms depending on what skills are provided or level of physical work. PLEASE NOTE: unless you are working in a team, we are happy for you to set your own 'start' and 'finish' times each day and you can vary these to suit yourself as long as in any 7 days you complete your 4/5 hours x 5 days in total. Also, volunteers can do longer hours per days if they want to have more than two days off in a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech, plus good Spanish and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Usually volunteers will have their own private bedroom but if we host several volunteers at the same time and we dont have sufficient rooms available, you may need to share a room with others of the same sex using single beds - we will inform you of this before you finally decide to volunteer with us so you can decide if this is acceptable or not. Volunteers share the main bath/shower room with ourselves and are welcome to use the other living areas which are all large rooms. All the living areas are fully renovated, newly decorated and kept very clean and tidy. There are also a new self contained apartments available and if these are not rented as a holiday let, we may allow you to stay in one.

    Volunteers can join us for three meals a day - we are not vegetarian but we do follow a healthy diet with lots of vegetables, grains, pulses, etc., and eat meat around 3 times a week - we like to prepare varied and very tasty food! We have light breakfasts usually consisting of a choice of cereal such as cornflakes, muesli, various grains, which you can add milk, jogurt or jam, or have fresh or toasted bread with butter and jam together with tea or coffee. Lunch is around mid-day and the main meal is dinner early evening. We have hosted vegetarians and vegans and they seemed to have been very happy with the meals we prepared for them - and we were happy to experience the meals they prepared. Regarding drinks, our tap water is very good and not treated with chemicals, we provide normal tea and instant coffee as well as herbal and fruit mixes for making hot drinks - volunteers can help themselves throughout the day. Volunteers can buy any special food or drink items, beer/wine, etc., they need for their own consumption from the nearby village - or can join us on shopping trips.

    INTERNET: we have a good connection

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our garden is very peaceful to relax in and we are surrounded by beautiful countryside with a network of marked walking trails. A small bar/restaurant recently opened in our village, although opening times are restricted and few kilometes away is a nice village with bars/restaurants, shops, supermarket, etc. We may be able to provide transport to visit local attractions, etc., helpers can accompany us sometimes on shopping trips to villages/towns and join us for recreational things like walking in the adjoining forests, light treks and visiting Slapy leisure lake where there are water sports available, restaurants, bars, disco´s and good clean swimming conditions.

    For anyone new to CZ, beer and wine are probably the cheapest in Europe! We can also help with organising public transport for trips a helper might want to make on their own. Various activities are available locally, including golf, river canooing/rafting, tennis, indoor pools, gym, rope park, horse riding (can accompany our daughter), etc., etc.

    Exact terms of the stay can be agreed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)










































Host ref number: 439226764719