1 / 5

Help us restore a 100 year old former pub building to her original glory in Queensland, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 88 times
  • Last activity: 8 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Having purchased an ex pub that is over 100 years old, we wish to restore it to her former glory. Due to both time and money this will be a long process, however each step is a step closer!

    The building is used purely as a house for hubby & I (and our animals), however being the size it is it has plenty of room for extras. We fell in love with the building and absolutely love living here - but there is way to much for just the two of us to do.

    Our children have grown up and left home, so it is the two of us and our fur babies (a much loved Shoodle, a one year old Chug and a gorgeous Chug puppy, a beautiful stubborn female cat and a male cat with an incredible nature).

    We have a massive games room (that needs to be set up), including an amazing stone based pizza oven and plenty of cleaning/tidying/preparing to be done.

    Any budding historians, we would love your help to collect and collate the history of our wonderful building. The little information we have gained builds a fascinating story.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our small country town offers all that a true country town has to offer - friendship, laid back lifestyle, yet still has all that might be needed (small supermarket, hospital, sporting facilities, etc). My husband & I have also travelled Australia extensively before putting down root here - so understand the itinerant lifestyle and we both love meeting new people and sharing with them.

    We love trying new foods and as such would love to learn skills from others (as long as the food isn't too spicy). In return we regularly have good Australian BBQ's and of course vegemite is a staple in our pantry.

    We are happy to help teach English, although a basic understanding would make things easier for us - and it goes without saying that living with us would teach you Aussie sayings!

  • Help


    We would love some help with the following things:

    *️️️️ Gardening and landscaping, from clearing to building a new garden.
    * Pet sitting - one of our fur babies suffers from severe separation anxiety and needs company 24/7
    *️️️️ Building - painting - interior and exterior (sanding, washing down, etc), decking, paving.
    *️️️️ Furniture restoration.
    *️️️️ If mechanically minded there is also a few lawn mowers that require a bit of tender love and care, as well as a collection of Morris Minors to be restored
    * Investigating and collating the history of our building

    The tasks range from that of someone willing to get in and give a hand, getting their hands dirty, through to some areas that require more knowledge (building etc).

    Where trade qualified people are needed we will be hiring locals and not workawayers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Our home has thirteen bedrooms - of which only one is used at the moment. Workawayers will have their own bedroom, bathroom (shared for guests) and depending on length of stay they could have their own lounge area set up. We have also started to set up a small home gym in one of the bedrooms.

    Downstairs our games room has been dismantled and needs to be put together again (snooker table, darts, table tennis, etc). Our main lounge has an open fire place that is used most winter evenings and with 12 foot ceilings is lovely and cool in summer.

    If the workawayer knows how to make a good coffee that is always appreciated as we have a very good coffee machine :)

    Workawayers will be welcome to join us for meals, or if they prefer to do their own thing that is possible too (although joining us would be preferred). We understand food allergies/requests fully - and these can be discussed with workawayers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our town has many social events that anyone is welcome to join in, darts, lawn bowls, golf. There are two pubs and a bowls club. We also have a small supermarket, swimming pool, squash courts, doctors surgery, hospital, ambulance, police.

    We are conveniently located within easy travelling distance for local sightseeing (Bunya mountains, Chinchilla, Dalby, Kingaroy).

    We have a dam that can be used for water sports and fishing (although level changes frequently). We have two kayaks that could be made available for use. We can also supply a pushbike for the local area.

    A car would be preferred for the longer distances, however we may be able to accommodate some travel depending on what else is happening at the time. There is a school bus that goes to Dalby daily that can be used by locals if need be.

    Dalby is our nearest public transport, which is 50 km away, however we are more than happy to pick up and drop off to meet transport for arrivals and departures.

    Workawayers must be animal friendly as our pets are a big part of our lives - even having their own spot on the lounge (unless they want to sit somewhere else).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of off road, level parking available Power and water can be arranged if you would prefer to stay in your vehicle

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as your pets get on with others (dogs and cats) and are well behaved they would be a welcome addition to our household.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 186899925197

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Come and learn about vegan lifestyle and how to live in harmony with animals and nature in Preolenna Tasmania
General Help with six year old and around the house, Victoria, Australia