Want to experience outback life- help around our family farm and home in Western QLD, Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young farming family on a beef cattle property in Western Queensland. We have to young boys 3yrs and 20mths who are loving and well mannered. Due to the extreme drought conditions we are requiring extra hands to help get everything done. We are about 1.5 hours from Charleville with daily flights to Brisbane, we are not only well connected but are surrounded with great people and social activities.

    We muster by the air and motorbikes a few times a year and have many daily jobs on top of that. Would love to share this wonderful opportunity with anyone interested in cultural exchange and sharing experiences. We will always provide a welcoming friendly environment for visitors as well as very comfortable accommodation and all food.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn the day to day running's of a rural property such as feeding poddy calves, water runs, checking stock to the opportunity to learn to drive large machinery such as dozers, develop skills for handling Stock (Cattle), such as mustering, yard work, cleaning feeders. Look after two very polite country kids (3yrs and 20months) who love to have fun and help out on the farm. Gardening maintance or basic handy man skills of fixing things around the house or house yard.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General Farm Help required. We are a young family who are experiencing extreme drought conditions. We are cutting scrub and pushing/pulling mulga, which leaves very little time to keep everything else running smoothly. Any help with household duties, childcare, handyman skills through to mechanical, welding or stock handling skills would be extremely helpful. We are looking for any experience with machinery to keep motor vehicles, motor bikes, trucks, dozers and chainsaws serviced and repaired. We live 50km from Augathella, QLD. There is either fully self-contained accommodation or bed & bathroom separate to the main house. Meals supplied for some help. For any further information please ask when applying.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is either fully self-contained accommodation or bed & bathroom separate to the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Living in rural Queensland there is always plenty to do such as country races, rodeos, BBQ's Christmas parties. There are lots of tourist attractions to experience and you will not leave disappointed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 727484621379