Spend some time in our bit of subtropical paradise near Nimbin, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 200 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on 36 beautiful acres 5 minutes from the iconic village of Nimbin in the Northern Rivers region of New South Wales.

    We are escapees from the rat race that is Sydney. We moved to live surrounded by nature and to have some space to raise our children.

    Bart works from home and Cat is a full time mum to our three children, aged 7, 5 and 2.

    There are many interesting and unusual subtropical fruit and nut trees scattered all around our place. In fact we haven't found them all yet.

    We are into healthy eating although we do have the odd relapse now and then. We are not vegetarian but can accommodate vegetarians. If you are vegan we would be happy to provide food but you would need to cook for yourself.

    We don't have TV although our Internet connection is good.

    There is a pool and even an outdoor spa if we have sufficient water. We also have a large dam great for swimming. We are 3.8km out of Nimbin so walking is certainly an option and hitching is quite usual in the area. There is also a bike if you like to ride. We will be more than willing to give you a lift whenever we are headed to town. We also often gave a spare car to loan for short journeys if you have a license.

    There is abundant bird life, wallabies in the back paddock and there are echidnas but they are very shy. Bandicoots and possums are out at night and are harder to spot.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come and experience the Australian bush in our subtropical paradise. You will have the opportunity to be part of our family while you stay and be involved in day to day life.

    We are very interested in permaculture and are slowly applying permaculture principles to our land. This is a long and ongoing project that will take many years.
    We have chickens and two cows. We have recently finished a large vegetable garden. Nimbin holds it's Mardigrass festival in May and Roots festival in October.

    You will also have ample opportunity to explore the local region with it's array of market days and it's colourful locals.

    The town of Lismore is 30 minutes drive away and the coast with it's beautiful beaches only an hour. The famous Byron bay is just over an hours drive.

    There are many great swimming holes and waterfalls in the local area that you can visit in your spare time.

    If you are staying in Byron Bay there is the "grass hoppers" bus that runs daily from Byron to Nimbin for $20. There are also other bus options running from Lismore and Murwillumbah as well as the Gold coast. Of course we are happy to pick you up from Nimbin.

    Lismore has recently suffered from two devistating floods and is slowly but surely recovering.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There are so many projects we'd like help with it's hard to list them all.

    Land care, helping with irrigation installation to assisting renovation around the house as well as some house work and or cooking. Currently we need help with clearing, gardening, looking after animals, painting and some carpentry.

    There are cows, ducks and chickens to feed, animal systems to develop, paddocks to mow, building work on our cabin, concreting of paths, the list goes on.

    Entertaining our children is also something we are always willing to accept help with.

    There are so many projects we are sure to be able to find something that suits your skills and interests. We really want to make your stay with us fun and enjoyable.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a converted dairy bales for you to stay in. It is a two bedroom cottage and is in a pleasant spot in the property, with stunning sunsets from your back veranda. Furniture is minimal but comfortable too, with everything you’ll need. It provides a nice private spot for you to chill out in. Yet you can also come to our - slightly kid crazy - house anytime for tea and interaction.

    Its worth noting that in having young kids things are constantly pretty crazy at our house. You would need to be comfortable with this. They can be pretty feisty yet also a lot of fun too.

    Of course there is also the option for you to pitch your own tent anywhere you like on our land if that is more your thing. We can also provide a tent if that helps.

    You have access to an abundance of food, which we discuss and organise once you arrive. On the first night, we invite you to join us at dinner time as we like to get to know you and welcome you to our place. Evening meals are sometimes shared with the family and in this case we expect you contribute to either the cooking or cleaning up at the evening meal. On the whole you will prepare and cook your own meals in the full kitchen up at the bales from the food we supply.

    It is important to add we live rurally and you may encounter snakes. Many of our snakes are pythons which are not venomous and help to keep more dangerous species away. Not everyone is comfortable having them around so be sure you’re ok with this before asking to stay! We are happy to go over some snake education on your arrival if needed too.

    As with any rural property in our area, we have ticks around. Again we can go through how to manage these little critters too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    WIFI is good although no dedicated office space to use. Plenty of places to hang out.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 618588151976