Striving for self-sufficiency in the hills of North East Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family of 4: Jake and Aleth, Remi (7) and Lucy (5). Our main objective is to turn our 8 acres into a productive space based on permaculture principles to try and achieve a certain level of self sufficiency. We have 1 little dog, 20 sheep, meat chickens (seasonal only), laying chickens, 2 pigs (seasonal only), a hive of bees and fish in the dams. Jake also has a woodworking business (tree milling / furniture making).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Jake knows a lot about trees, saw milling and timber and could teach you to recognise different trees and their characteristics/qualities, as well as uses for building/furniture making.

    Aleth is French and speaks French to the kids, and also plays the violin and piano. We have both travelled in the past and have been well looked after by people on the way, so we are happy to return the favour!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We currently have lots of projects going on such as fencing, landscaping (big retaining wall), replacing windows in the house, constructing stone walls, planting trees and many other things. Autumn/Winter is also a good time to prune trees on the property and to get logs for saw milling
    we often have a fire going sometimes big bonfires sometimes just a campfire in the back yard for cooking barbecues
    there's always making the daily bread in our wood stove and cooking dinner with home grown meat and veggies, with kids providing round the clock entertainment!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed in cosy renovated garage (separate building from the house).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Can pick up from Albury train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 552172945746