Enjoy the mountains of the coastal hinterland, NSW

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am lucky to live on a beautiful 200 acre organic property on the mid north coast of NSW, about 400km north of Sydney. It is an hour's drive to Port Macquarie and the beaches of the coast. The property is a mix of cleared paddocks, thick rainforest, waterfalls, creeks completely surrounded by national parks and nature reserve. I spend my time between relaxing on the farm, adventures through Australia and overseas trips. Have just returned from India and Nepal, that's 36 countries I have now travelled to. If I cannot host you it may be because I am traveling myself. I am used to hosting people from around the world. I am very relaxed with life and the farm reflects this, so it's a laid back atmosphere. Saying that its not a dull place and best suits those who enjoy some fun and laughs. This is not a 'work camp' but more of a meeting place for world travellers who are happy to contribute some energy to the atmosphere, whether this is artistically, musically or through helping with some simple work. I am a lover of food, its preparing, cooking and feasting with friends, so meals are always an important part of the day. We offer a peaceful yet interesting haven for world travellers who are keen to have an achievement they are proud of. I have worked as a veterinarian, coffee roaster, financier, builder and now farmer so have many strings to my bow and happy to show what skills I have. I would prefer someone with some experience in outdoor work or at least happy and able to help me finish some construction here on the farm. But saying that Ive had so many interesting experiences with Helpers anything is possible. In fact we seem to spend as much time sightseeing, making art and having long lunches. If you are genuinely interested maybe contacting me with more than a text and wanting to talk might indicate we are on the same wavelength.
    Just finishing building my new home so am looking for someone happy to help with the cleaning, tidying up both inside the house and the gardens. Would love someone to help with my Spanish lessons. I am happy to help teach new skills but also am comfortable with those people who have self motivation, enthusiasm and a sense of humour- that I can't teach someone.
    *️Pick up from railway/bus station can be organised. *️Accommodation is in the house, own room with comfortable bed.
    *️The best hot shower you will ever have.
    *️Great food
    *️Reasonably good English needed for communication
    Travel well


    Update; Due to the Australian Government changes volunteer work is no longer counted towards the 88 days required for 2nd year visas so unfortunately I am not in the position to pay full award rates for helpers. This means I am no longer able to sign off on 2nd year visas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    work here depends on what we want to do. its not a dictatorship here and everyone who has stayed here has worked with me because the enjoy it not because I order them to do things. I am finishing building my house here and need some help in making it a home with input with design and decoration. Also i need help with the vege garden and advise/help with the flowers. There is some general farm maintenance and if you have any artistic ideas they are welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english understand some french and spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house was a timber mountain cabin built in 1920 by hand. it is made from local timber that has been hand split and laid. I am just finishing the new additions renovations to the house so it is now a modern building with the original old cabin as its heart. The room available for guests is a new separate room with double bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can organise to pick you up from either train or bus stations nearby but it is good to co ordinate this first with emails and talk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    no more than 5 hours per day, 5 days per week


Host ref number: 448622789623