Basic home improvement help in one of our houses in vibrant Medellin, Colombia

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our city! Medellin. We are a family of three, including my wife and our handsome dog Dobi. Our homes are an interior and decoration project where we want to create a truly beautiful ambience.

    We are are chilled, respectful, outgoing people that love learning stuff from other cultures. We also are in the process of learning about decoration and interior design, with our homes as our practicing home. We also get Airbnb visitors from time to time, so having a beautiful space also helps.

    We are located in a very nice neighborhood called Belen Malibu and Laureles, we are close to metro routes, buses and every single kind of public transportation available. We also have universidad pontificia bolivariana very close to us, as well as unicentro shopping mall. Unique city landscapes and spots are also very close to us, like pueblito paisa and unidad deportiva de Belén, where you can find the best public outdoor gym in the whole nation, as well as pools, soccer fields, basketball courts, BMX circuits and even an archery field.
    The Sweet spot for restaurants is also close to our home, so you can also have some fine dining around if that's your thing.

    We also have our countryhouse which is located very close to the city (25 mins by car), which has a great view of the city and needs improvement/maintenance, too. It is a rustic place with a lot of nature to see and breathe. Good to get literally disconnected and get new natural energy flowing. Plants, fruits, flowers, vegetables all over the place and a very fresh weather make it very nice to visit and stay some days. We go there often and you can come in if you want/we have space.

    Overall if you're interested visiting our city, staying with us it's a really cool way of doing it.. Especially if you share the same philosophy with us, that is about respect, willingness to improve, privacy, good energy, learning new things, art, well done things, animals, beauty, sports, health, fitness, and the list goes on.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Spending some time in our place should be a very nice way to visit a new spot and get a hold of its culture. It's a very nice neighborhood in a very beautiful house, surrounded by everything you could possibly need. If you don't have any of the skills needed, we will be happy to teach you, be it painting, woodworking, gardening and such. That alone should be very enriching.

    Probably one of the most enriching experiences you will have with us is about language. While I can speak English pretty fluently, I do like when our visitors try to learn Spanish. In our homes, Spanish is preferred, so you can have us willing to actively try to correct your Spanish and teach you actively how to speak and pronounce correctly as we go with our daily life. I have also been and Spanish teacher for B2 level for some time now, so I'm pretty sure I can be of help in that regard if I'm around (sometimes I am very busy). My wife speaks mostly Spanish so that helps raise the bar a little bit more. Her parents live in one of the houses and they also only speak Spanish.

    In the rustic countryhouse (which is located at only 25 minutes away by car) you can also get a hold of some of the rural life. It is a little colder weather with plenty of flowers, fruits and vegetables. Beautiful spot to change mood, slow down the fast pace of the city and get in touch with nature. We go there often so you could go with us if you want. We also need plenty of help there, too. Since we've been getting many requests, please include the word ireadyourlongbook :D in the subject of your request so I know we already have an informed starting point.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love if you could help us keep and improve our homes. Basic tasks include mostly simple stuff like housekeeping, painting, gardening, basic building and some improvements here and there.
    We run properties as bnb's and we need to keep them clean at all times. So it is very important that you feel comfortable with doing basic housekeeping tasks as well.
    From time to time we also do some woodworking too.
    We do everything with a lot of love and attention to detail as a way to enjoy it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on availability, we could provide a very nice room, almost always with with a double bed, sometimes with a patio window and a bathroom. Sometimes it might be private, otherwise, shared.
    If we go to the rustic countryhouse (very close to Medellin) and you want to go, you could also stay with us there. You would have your own room and usually a shared bathroom.
    If for some reason we rent a room for the Airbnb you can use another room and then go back when it goes free again. We would only ask you for that if it is absolutely necessary. Overall, comfortable rooms are what we have. Usually, rooms have a closet, too. And we are going to try and always give you the best room we can at a given moment.

    We prefer you to bring your own food and goods. Our experience shows is way better for both parties, all the time. You can use our kitchen and appliances to cook what you want/need. Just leave things clean and organized or better than you found it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go to pueblito paisa, have some nice foods in the zona rosa de laureles, practice outdoor sports like soccer, tennis, swimming, gym at the unidad deportiva de Belén or go anywhere in the city due to our central location with access to a plethora of transportation options. La 70 (party zone) is close, as well as plenty of bars in la 33. Dance academies, shopping malls, laundry service, bicycle routes around, and a real Medellin neighborhood is what you'll find. Plenty of parks and sweet spots around, too. That's why it is one of the best places to live in Medellin. Thanks for reading this far.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 716463493495