Help in our retreat in the heart of the Great Bear Rainforest, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Rob and Louise) have lived here on the central coast for the past 18 years. Louise facilitates wellness and personal growth retreats and also on-line and her husband Rob salvages via beachcombing wood for a variety of projects from 16 foot clear cedar slab dining tables to cedar cabins, wood floats, and custom milling.

    We are outgoing folks but we are also quite private. You will mostly work independently, construction experience would be awesome although there are plenty of other projects in the house and gardens that are on-going. Rob is very skilled craftsman and carpenter.

    We have two lab retriever doggies Rosie & Willow.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living in the heart of the Great Bear Rainforest here on the central west coast of BC. The Great Bear Rainforest has been featured in National Geographic and is on their list of top 10 places in the world to visit. We live remotely there are only 65 residents on Denny Island and the community of Bella Bella on Campbell Island (5 nautical miles from here) is home to the Heiltsuk First Nation.

    There is plenty to see ... there are hikes on the island, we could likely locate a kayak for you to go kayaking, there are also opportunities for fishing.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a variety of projects on the go from gardening (food and flowers), construction of additional accommodations on the property, house-keeping/room changeovers for guests, and of course in the summer help with canning fish and vegetables is always welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english & french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is available in the main house, cabin dwelling and we also have a 16ft yurt/tent on a cedar platform. We have lived in the tent in the summer months (full bed in there and furniture). So accommodation provided will be one of the above depending on availability. The bathroom and shower is located in the house and is shared. Food will be provided, we source organic food as much as possible, workawayers would be responsible for prepping their own meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 711287812331