Help in our house/garden in la Giettaz, French Alps

Country

France

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 7 people, Catherine, André and our children: Jean-Baptiste (22), Elisabeth (20), Pierre (19), Gabriel (17 ) and François (15), we live in a small village in the French Alps called la Giettaz en Aravis. We have 2 cats and hens with a permaculture garden, a bakery and a grocery. Catherine is a nurse, she works in the next village with the elderly and André is a baker.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can explore our region and do sports (bicycling, swimming, running, walking...).
    You will have the opportunity to taste and learn how to cook typical dishes from our region with good cheese and wine, especially during winter.

    It's better if you can entertain yourself and be independent, because everyone here is quite busy. But you can join us when we go for walks, running or mountain bicycling. The children like skiing, you can go and ski with them, they will show you the ski resort. We can drop you and pick you up when we go somewhere with the car.

    We like to speak about many subjects and our meals are sometimes very lively/noisy. You will learn about the French culture and language.

  • Help

    Help

    Every period of the year we need help around the house with cleaning, cooking, manual work, renovation, feed the hens, pick up the eggs...

    During summer and autumn we need help in the garden to water plants, pick up vegetables and fruits, some construction of wooden boxes/stands/frames to support the plants...

    For the winter time, the other help consists to clear the snow from the pathways and our cars.

    The work will depend on your skills and preferences, but you can be sure there is always something to do here.
    Please, notice that you will have to help (reasonably of course !) with the common daily work, like setting/clearing the table or washing the dishes, and that doesn't count in your daily time of work... We really appreciate when helpers see what needs to be done, or just propose their help in the kitchen, before and after the meals. We are a big family so we consider it's very important and normal that you help with these chores aside from your time of work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We rent 2 apartments just next to our house, so when they are not busy you can sleep in one of them. Otherwise you will have your own room in our house. You take every meal with our family. We provide all the food, and if you know any recipe - especially typical recipe from your country/region - you can cook as much as you want ! Food is never missing here as we have a grocery and a bakery: you will have hot bread and croissants every morning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Every time of the year there are many things to do here:

    -skiing (we live 10 minutes by car from the ski resort of la Giettaz, and there are other ski resort around like la Clusaz, Megeve, Flumet...);
    -walking and bicycling in the mountains around (we can lend you some mountain bikes);
    -there is a lake in Flumet, 15 minutes by car from our house (or you can reach it bicycling if you are sporty), and a river in the village;
    -typical places like Chamonix, Annecy that can be reached in one hour by car and bus (castles and gorgeous lake in Annecy), Megeve, la Clusaz, and many other beautiful places where you can admire the beauty of the Alps.

    We can drop you at the bus stations or anywhere if it's not too far (within 20km from our house).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3/4 hours a day, 5 days a week.

The village from our balcony
Our house
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 692355487693