Experience the beautiful Whangarei city Town Basin in New Zealand while helping me with my daily tasks.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    360

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. I have been hosting for 8 + years and have over 50 positive references - on various hosting sites.
    I live right in the centre on Whangarei City in the town basin, on the side of Mt Parihaka, walking distance from the intercity bus stop.
    Walking tracks on my street (just down from my house) to the city's best nature reserve.

    I am quite bohemian myself and my house definitely reflects that.
    I have a joire de vivre outlook on life.
     I have an elderly cat (and very fat) named Babigurl. She used to be a stray cat before she moved herself in and made friends with me so she had a very difficult former life. Cat lovers only plz.
    I am a professional singer and a former professional bass player. I love to sing & dance. I love to sing more than anything in the world!! I'm a rock jazz, country, blues singer that's not to uptight and quite open minded about different lifestyles cultures and outlooks with a GLBT friendly home.
    I AM A LCHF / KETOGENIC eater..(The opposite of vegetarianism and veganism) so you wont find carbs here. For this reason unfortunately I do not extend the invitation for vegetarians to visit.
    For the meat~eating carb addicts however, the cafes and resturant in the town basin sell lots of carbs for those carb/sugar addictions. :)
     
    I love fishing and in the summer I love camping, hiking and snorkeling (i want to learn to scuba dive and will do so when I get the $$$ together), gathering seafood, fishing, boating & being at the beach. It's a great thing I live at the beach!! I love portrait photography.. I love board games and own Monopoly, Cranium, Scattergories, Mindtrap, Scruples, Trivial Pursuit, Balderdash, Mancala and Taboo, as well as a well-used and loved deck of cards. Uno anyone?
    I am also a bookworm with an insatiable appetite for books. I love cooking and food. I may have to bake for you as I miss baking ..but i wont be eating any of it.
    I love to travel, and have been around the world (East all the way around to be exact) l will never get sick of traveling. Even small day trips are great fun! I enjoy being witty and I DO break out into song at a moments notice!!

    My personal philosophy is atheist. (no-religion.) However I do believe in the universal truth, which to my mind is living a good life based on listening to your conscience. Respecting others right to believe what they want and I'm open to learning about all cultures and lifestyles.
    I enjoy Interesting people with a GREAT sense of humor and intelligence. Musical and artistic people and people that can tell a great yarn (a story about their experiences) I like liberal open-minded critical thinkers. 

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Local waking tracks, walking distance to all city recreational amenities.

  • Help

    Help

    I keep my house quite clean and tidy.

    HOUSEWORK:
    - meal prep and cooking. (as required.)
    - clean and dry all surfaces in the kitchen including the benches, oven, microwave, and stove-top.
    - ensure all dishes are done (and put away in the correct location)

    Any tasks that come up while you are visiting that I need extra help with. Usually housework related.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluient English. Intermediate Maori, beginner French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Arabic, & German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This place is an idylic holiday location.
     
    I live on the coast at Whangarei Heads surrounded by beaches. Our beach is McLeods Bay. I live right between Mount Manaia and Mount Aubrey. Department of conservation walking tracks within minutes of my front door. Surf beach 10 mins down the road.(Ocean Beach).
    YOUR SPACE:
    Your have your own bedroom furnished with a futon mattress and frame, share all other areas including bathroom, toilet and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *️️️️there is so much down-time to explore the city

    *️️️️there is unlimited free wifi Internet.

    *️️️️I always provide dinner but you may need to forage for yourself at breakfast and/or lunch.
    I do not provide personal care items (things like soap, shampoo, conditioner etc).
    *️️️️ if I'm not working I will be happy to take you to visit local places of interest in exchange for reasonable financial compensation for my vehicle running costs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 to 5 hours depending on organizational skills and work ethic

Babigurl and I having a nap










Host ref number: 229712926769