Help in garden, building and projects in Cómpeta, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1059

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living on a Cortijo near Cómpeta in the Campo with fruit and nut trees, avocados and an extensive well established garden. We would love some extra help with the many jobs. The views here are astounding with the sea only three miles as the crow flies, mountains all around and from dawn to sunset the changeing light is captivating. We have a small swimming pool which is ideal to jump into when it gets too hot. I am a musician from Scotland and welcome any aspiring or accomplished musicians!

    Workaways would stay in our Yurt, a small but private space, but would have access to
    the main house with shower and loo at all times.

    Currently we are requiring help that would require joinery skills-building fences, railing, built in wardrobe, and also with painting of the house, gardening, weeding, light housework, also building skills-building as in steps of concrete down to our terraces. We would also love to build an outdoor kitchen and lay patio stones too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could learn English, I could teach them flute or penny whistle traditional Scottish and Irish music, they would enjoy my cooking as I love cooking and can cater for vegans and vegetarians as well as meat eaters. They would love my beautiful garden and swimming pool. This is a healing space of tranquility and beauty.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we are needing people with joinery skills to fit a door into a space but our garden with vegetable and fruit trees needs a lot of attention always! Watering the plant pots and sweeping the terrace is always helpful too.
    I am learning Spanish so if anyone could help speak to me in Spanish that would be a bonus.
    I often have to work away myself and my husband could do with help cooking and cleaning and care for our cats...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Gaelic (Scottish): Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Beautiful Mongolian yurt, private but with full access to main house. If workawayers want to eat independently or with me that is fine. I’m happy to cook for them. I cater for all tastes, vegetarians , vegan and anything in between.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach and sea is only ten minutes away at Torrox Costa or Nerja where there are world famous caves to visit. Cómpeta is a charming pueblo with white houses and fabulous bars and restaurants serving tapas and local wine. Right next to a national park there is walking and the area is popular with cyclists.
    I am a registered nurse and am enjoying not nursing! I love cooking and can make vegan and vegetarian food happily as I was vegetarian for many years although am not now. I play music and enjoy relaxing and swimming and listening to music. I have always enjoyed meeting new interesting people from all around he world. I am in my fifties aNd my husband in his sixties but we are always up for a laugh with anyone of any age group.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 669953939288