Enjoy the Bohemian countryside helping in Žleby, Czech Republic


Czech Republic


Favourited 22 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Help us renovate our 200 years old house in Žleby. Experience the traditional Czech life, learn about the culture, visit many historical places, castles and medieval towns that are all close by. We live nearby a fairytale-like castle in Žleby where there is a park with white deers. We are located 15 km from the Seč lake, which has sandy and grassy beaches, water sports and where there is clean water for swimming. Within the surroundings you can find the Železné hory region - which main tourist attraction are hills covered with forests, meadows and fields. Kutná Hora - a medieval town which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site from 1995 is located 20 km from Žleby. It has outstanding architecture and has influenced subsequent architectural developments in other Central European city centres.
    We are located 80 km from Prague. There is excellent public transport available directly from our village. It takes 1 hour 20 minutes to get there from Prague by car or train.
    We are a Czech couple - Vendula (39) and Jindřich (39) - with a 7 year old daughter and 3 year old son. Our house which is 200+ years old is a former sugar factory office in early Art Nouveau design, which we want to make nice again. We have a large garden with several silkies (chickens) in it. We all speak English and Czech. Me, Vendula, can also speak basic French.
    We started renovating the house so the accomodation in there is temporary. Currently we stay on the second floor and are renovating the first floor. We can offer you your own private room on the second floor and kitchen as well as a bathroom with a toilet on the first floor.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very interested in world cuisines and will let you enjoy the Czech one. You can experience restoring a historical house. Jindřich is a hobby woodcrafter and stoneworker. You can join him in this kind of projects. I like using nature's gifts, making tea from our garden herbs, preserving other fruits from our garden and surrounding nature, and cheesemaking from local milk. I am a passionate yarn spinner and a knitter. Anežka, our daughter, learns to play the flute. I can show you how to raise hens from eggs to a fully grown hen/rooster.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for volunteers to help us with one or more of the following tasks:

    * tidying up the house
    * interior reconstruction and renovation of walls and ceilings
    * garden renovation/construction work
    * housework and preparing meals
    * building duck house
    * introducing us to new world cuisines

    The minimum period we host volunteers is 7 days which is not including the days of arrival and departure.

    We expect the volunteers to help 4 hours per day excluding meal times and breaks x 5 days a week and then take 2 days off - but we can agree in advance on the terms depending on what skills are provided or the level of physical work.
    PLEASE NOTE: You can set your own 'start' and 'finish' times each day and you can vary these to suit yourself as long as you complete the 5 hours x 5 days within the 7 days (20 hours/week). We don't mind if you start working at 7 am or at 11 am, nor in the afternoon - it is up to you! Also, volunteers can work longer hours per day if they want to have more than two days off in a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers stay in their private room on the second floor and can use their private kitchen and bathroom with a toilet on the first floor.

    FOOD: Volunteers can join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We are not vegetarian. We usually have a light breakfast consisting of cornflakes or cereals with milk, yogurt and/or homemade jam. Breakfast could also be fresh or toasted bread with butter and homemade jam together with tea (black, herbal) or coffee (proper espresso). Volunteers can also experience the traditional czech food in exchange for preparing some food for us.
    We can´t provide you with cooked lunch and dinner on a regular basis but if you insist on warm meals, there is a nice pub by the castle that serves traditional czech food. If you prefere some special food, you can also buy it in the local small shops or in the supermarkets in Čáslav which is not far away. We can take you with us to Čáslav 2-3 times a week for shopping. If the weather permits we enjoy eating in the garden, have an occasional BBQ, and also make a wood fire to roast sausages on grill. There is a nice place where you can buy super fresh fish (trout) in the village. (The fish is alive and they prepare it for you when you buy it).
    Regarding drinks, our tap water is from our well and is good for cooking and it's not treated with any chemicals. Volunteers can buy any special food or drinks, beer/wine, etc they need for their own consumption from the village - or they can join us on the shopping trips.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For anyone new to Czech Republic, the beer and wine are probably the cheapest in Europe! We don´t drink alcohol much, but we don´t care if somebody likes it more than we do.
    We can also help with organising public transport for trips if you want to explore on your own.
    The exact terms of the stay can be agreed.
    Internet access is stable.
    We have chickens (not our own eggs yet).
    Jindřich is a smoker, but it is not allowed to smoke in the house.
    We are bitcoin friendly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet access is stable.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for parking campervan in the garden.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 195638334664