Summer holiday help with our family in Chambery, France

  • Favourited 17 times
  • Last activity: 11 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hello ! we are a family of 5 persons + 2 cats + 1 dog + 4 hens ; we live in the french Alps. Our children are Amaia (15), Gaël (13) and Léonor (6 years old). Jorge is mexican and sandra is french. We love intercultural exchanges, we like simple things, we do not have TV, we like being outside and live according to ecological and human values. We also are a bit crazy. We need a little help during (summer) holidays with our children. Welcome in our family !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful alpine region (Chambéry), beetween lakes and mountains, and we would like to spend 2 more weeks to go in holidays with our "nanny" to visit new places in France together. We speak french and spanish at home. We understand english too. we like nature and wish to share our best walks with you. You could learn french, cooking, visit nice places/ villages... feel free to tell us what you expect to do / share !

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Our 13-years old boy is deeply handicapped (multi-disabled) - he needs help to eat, to play, to be showered and changed, and we need somebody to help us during the summer holidays because Jorge will be working and Sandra wil be alone with the children. So she needs 2 extra arms to handle with the 3 children at home !

    The perfect person should be comfortable with the idea of living with a disabled child, and it is very important to be pro-active, he/she should be capable of taking initiatives with a good sense of anticipation. ( e.g. be capable to prepare something to eat to the children when it's time to eat, even if we did not specified that it was time for dinner ! Or think to regularly change the children diapers... !). They should not be too careful about cleanliness while being able to tidy up the children after their activities. And be curious and creative !! For example, be able to play with a disabled child who does not necessarily respond to requests, and able to invent games for the 2 or 3 children to find themselves together and interact.... yes it looks like a real gamble but it will be a very rewarding experience if you are sensitive to disability and to children !

    The moment of the day i will need most help is between 16h30 to 20h30. and also at the begginning of the day (7-9h) during schooltime. We also are musicians beguinners and would love to share piano or guitare skills with you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    we live in a house that was build in 1948. We have 4 bedrooms and we will let you a private one with a single bed + table + chair + closet. The bathroom is shared with all the family members. We have a garden with a wooden terrace, a vegetable patch, fruit trees etc. in summer we put a (very) small pool to refresh.

    We are intenting to become vegetarians but we don't succeed... (!!) so I would decribe us as flexitarians. We eat organic, local and seasonable fruit and vegetables as much as we can. Cooking takes a big part of the day so we would be very happy to cook with you to discover your meals and to make you discouver ours. It's important for us to take time to prepare meals together (cut vegetables etc.) We make ourselves most of our meals and intend to eat at the same time together although it's sometimes difficult with our disabled child. In that case, the little ones eat first and we have meal together after they go to sleep. On summer we often eat outisde altogether at midday. I am always searching for new ideas for cooking and would be very pleased to share food "tips" with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the city and in the countryside at the same time. Behind our garden there is a farm with 70 nice cows and 2 poneys. You will need to bike or take the bus to go to the inner/ancient city (8 km). There are many concerts/festivals during summer. We can swim in the lakes which are not far away ; or ride in the surronding mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 894142731314