updated  

Help us create our ecological studio in Orgiva, southern Spain

  • Favourited 244 times
  • Last activity: 25 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are street performers making an eco creation studio in southern Spain. We are excited to see how we can re-wild an old olive farm whilst making a beautiful environment for people to create in.
    We are Jo and Jake, with our 23 year old son Roo, who comes to stay regularly. We are in our fifties (how did that happen?) We are politically active. In Orgiva there are lots of alternative workshops and events. There are hippies, anarchists, parties, raves and Bohemian people from all over the world! We are 40 minutes from the beach by car, and about an hour to the mountains where you can ski in winter! Although we recommend workawayers have their own transport, you can walk into Orgiva from ours in 20 mins - and often people hitchhike too. Orgiva is a mixture of a traditional southern Spanish agricultural town and loads of travellers who have settled here, plus a number of Sufis. There is also an established Buddhist centre a drive away. The Alpujarra is a really multicultural place!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be learning from each other. We will expect the workawayers to join in with what ever projects we are working on, hopefully they will be teaching us as we will them.
    We tend to communicate with each other in English so the workawayers can improve their English if they so wish, however we have travelled and worked worldwide so are used to being with many different cultures and languages! We would all eat together and take turns to cook and clean up! We eat more or less anything, but are happy to accommodate vegetarian and vegan diets.

  • Help

    Help

    There is various work around the new eco creation studio. We have built a yurt and are finishing it off now. We will be building compost toilets, a workshop. Repairing fencing. We have two vegetable plots. We will also be maintaining the olive grove ( lots of wood processing!), planting trees, maintaing waterways, and one day building a natural swimming pool.
    We sometimes work together, sometimes alone. We like people who are happy to work independently and then sometimes as a team!
    Daily typical jobs: cutting wood, shredding leaves, cleaning the above ground pool, brushing and mopping floor, cleaning the house, making the fire, compost creation, strimming, watering the new trees, and the veggie plots, cooking .
    Less fequent jobs: pruning olive trees, pruning other vegetation, wall building, setting up water systems...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 2 bedrooms in the shared house,
    or a tiny tent in the garden, depending on how many are staying!
    And maybe the shipping container!

    If you help 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, we provide all food! However we do expect you to help with food preparation and washing up and clearing up afterwards. This is not part of the 5 hours work!
    We like people who are happy to muck in,
    who are passionate about permaculture and want to work hard!

    We expect you to clean your room whilst staying and before leaving, so it's in a beautiful state for the next workawayer!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    loads of alternative stuff! We are 20 mins walk from Orgiva an alternative town in andalucia. There are lots of workshops, groups, cafes and markets occuring.We are in nature so you can easily explore the countryside on foot.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a 22 Mbps Wi-Fi connection. We would want people to work privately rather than in communal spaces. There are workspace in Orgiva that people can use and also cafes that allow remote working, if you ask.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have shaded olive groves which are a perfect place for people to park up in. And free electricity from our solar if you have an extension lead.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved dogs (as long as the owner clears up the poo), horses, but NOT cats! Jake's allergic to cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 659295659714

Feedback (14)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)






















Help with housework and enjoy our cosy family home in Tenerife, Canary Islands Spain
Experience ranch life and take care of rehabilitated horses, mules and donkeys in Moimentos San Sadurniño, Spain