Stephen

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2017 - 01/01/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    260

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm a young man from Hamilton,Ontario looking to gain new skills, work experience and have some adventures. My conventional work experience consists of construction, welding, and industrial labour, however I have over two years experience in organic farming, hospitality and animal husbandry through workaway. I have worked all across Canada for many different hosts and am thankful for all those opportunities.

    Most importantly though I am polite, honest and mature. I have good communication skills and work well with others. In the past I have taken on leadership roles through workaway where I lead by example, with respect and diplomacy.

    I play banjo and travel with one. I love playing with others and enjoy traditional folk songs and most things americana. If you play a stringed instrument I suspect we'll make fast friends! I'm more inclined to work for hosts who live near somewhere I can busk (farmers markets, towns) to make some traveling money.

    Please don’t hesitate to message me about your projects! I will respond with an honest answer. I am open to committing to longer stays for the right project. I am also open to working extra hours for cash.

    Looking forward to hearing from you! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    RELATED WORK HISTORY

    General Help
    Outland Camps, Yukon and Manitoba (2016 - 2017)
    • Cleaned and maintained all kitchen areas of facilities as per cleaning schedules; This included: heavy equipment (hood and oven vents), dining area, floors, dish and cookware, and all areas of back of house operation
    • Assisted the Cook with food preparation, cooking and meal service (up to 300 clients per meal period)
    • Stocked and replenished food service items such as cutlery, dishes, glasses, and condiments during meal periods

    Welder (MIG)
    National Steel Car, Hamilton, ON (2014 - 2016)
    • Operated manual and fully automated welding equipment to join and fabricate metal parts
    • Prepared jigs and set-ups for welding
    • Operated hoisting equipment and hydraulic lifts
    • Read and interpreted welding blueprints, drawings specifications, manuals and processes

    Construction Labourer
    Bailey Contracting, Brampton, ON (2012 – 2013)
    • Built frames, installed floor joists, sub-flooring, door/window frames & roof trusses
    • Installed insulation between studs and tacked plastic moisture barrier over insulation
    • Measured, cut and shaped wood using saws, chisels, planes and power tools
    • Constructed wooden forms and chutes for pouring concrete
    • Loaded and unloaded construction materials, and move materials to work areas

    Grower/Farm Hand Internship
    Mansfield Heritage Farm, Mansfield, ON (2012)
    • Animal husbandry; cared for animals including chickens (layers and meat birds) and rabbits
    • Responsible for regular watering, weeding, fertilizing and maintenance of plants
    • Regularly cleaned animal stalls and work-spaces
    • Marketed and sold farm products at local farmers markets


    EDUCATION AND TRAINING

    Occupational First Aid - Selkirk College (2016)

    Forklift License - Hamilton Safety Training (2016)

    Fall Protection Basics - Hamilton Safety Training (2016)

    WHMIS Certification - Hamilton Safety Training (2016)

    Hand Tool Techniques - Mohawk College (2014)

    Fundamentals of Horticulture - Mohawk College (2014)

    Woodworking Level 1 - Camosun College (2012)

  • Languages spoken

    English, Trying to learn Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Designed and built these cabinets for a workaway host in Lions Head, ON (2014).
Flooring project for a workaway host in Lions Head, ON (2014).
Designed and built this gate for a workaway host in Duncan, BC (2016).
Designed and built this deck railing for a workaway host in Duncan, BC (2016).
Building tent platforms for Nelson City Campground (2016).
Building tent platforms for Nelson City Campground (2016).
Building tent platforms for Nelson City Campground (2016).
Shaping large shim to place behind and level new kitchen cabinets for workaway host in Portland, OR (2017).
Repairing hole in plaster ceiling for workaway host in Portland, OR (2017).
Repairing plaster ceiling for workaway host in Portland, OR (2017).
Applied stain and finish to wainscotting. Laying out measurements for outlets and wiring for workaway host in Portland, OR (2017).

Feedback