Bush living near Melbourne with a permaculture twist! Gordon, Australia



Favourited 112 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are an active family of four looking for the occasional extra set of hands to get some jobs done and help build upon a number of permaculture principle based projects around our 11 acre, bush property.

    [ ** UPDATE: Are you interested in a longer stay? Due to Covid-19, we are only accepting guests who are willing to stay for a minimum of four weeks. Depending on your travels we might invite you to self isolate on our property for the recommended time. Feel free to get in contact and discuss. ** ]

    Upcoming projects include building bonfires, wood collection, winter veg prep, maintaining our vegetable garden, preserving amongst other things!

    Both Dominique and Liz have completed Permaculture Design Courses (2016 and 2017 respectively). Liz had also recently completed Permaculture teacher training. We have implemented a number of projects, including intensive crop rotation garden beds, two small poly tunnels and a mini-forest garden orchard area. We keep chickens and, for the past year, bees. We have two teenage kids who are now older than the photos in our profile.

    We purchased our mudbrick dream around six years ago and absolutely love living here. Kangaroos, koalas and echidnas are regularly visitors.

    We are mostly vegetarian (some seafood) and take pride in the fact we eat from our garden most days.

    We are are still quite new to this caper but are thinking in exchange for some pretty awesome private accommodation (if we say so ourselves, hehe!), a little bit of extra help around the property would be awesome.

    If this sounds like you, then please get in touch!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both Dom and Liz are fluent in Dutch. Dom is originally from Holland, while Liz learnt the language while living there. Our eldest speaks some Dutch and our youngest none, so some exchange could be done in the form of language lessons (children tend to not want to learn from their parents). Dom also speaks German, while our eldest is learning German.

    Liz has been interested in permaculture since the mid-nineties, collecting all kinds of gardening and permaculture books along the way. Dominique completed his PDC in 2016, with Liz completing hers in 2017. We are always keen to share knowledge and learn from others in any area that helps us live more sustainably. We are both members of our local permaculture guild (Ballarat).

    Other practical skills we can share with you include sustainable gardening techniques (including sheet mulching, raised garden beds), bee keeping (beginners), preserving and foraging techniques.

  • Help


    Most of the work we do is project based, so we probably can complete a project while you are here, working where possible to your skills, experience or willingness to give it a go. Naturally, these tasks have to fit in with the general day to day jobs (weeding, composting, watering, mowing, clearing etc.) that need to happen also. There may be minor building maintenance tasks as well.

    During the cooler months we prepare for the summer: clearing, collecting and removing sticks. This often results in a weekend bonfire; a perfect way to end the day!

    On top of this we are forage extensively (and furiously) at various times of the year collecting, among other things, blackberries, mushrooms, wild damsons, hawthorns, elderflowers, elderberries for use throughout the year. At these times of year, there are a LOT of preserving jobs to do (generally best done with a glass of wine in hand).

    Other tasks may include working with our brood of chickens. We also keep bees, and our dog Betty is sure to love you to bits (just rub her tummy, seriously). Two cats also live on the property, but predominately live inside in an effort to protect the abundant bird life.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    When staying with us you will have your own mini-apartment! The previous owners of our property built a bungalow in the back of our garage to live in while building the house. It has a large living area and bedroom with ensuite. We have been slowly renovating this space, updating the kitchen, living area floor and are currently finishing off the bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We both have city jobs. Dom travels to Melbourne to work four days a week by train from Ballan station (15min drive), so a pick up to and from the station could be arranged. Liz works five days, with the odd day working from home. We can happily drop you off at the train station on your days off to take in sights in Melbourne or Ballarat. Ballarat has some great sights including Sovereign Hill, the Gold Museum, Museum of Australian Democracy at Eureka, Ballarat Fine Art Gallery, Lake Wendouree and the botanical gardens as well as the numerous cafes and wine bars that have recently opened up.

    If you have your own car we are equal distance to Daylesford (spa country) and there are numerous bushwalking and hiking opportunities about (we are avid bush-walkers and have many books and maps for walks in the Central Goldfields and Grampians area if you need to get some inspiration).

    If you are into hiking, speak to Liz. An avid hiker she has collected a plethora of books and maps for walks (day and multiday) mostly in Victoria, and will happily chat with you for hours on what is around and help you plan an adventure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day for 5 days a week

Foraged elderflower goodies for the year!
We take foraging very seriously!
Foraging fun!
Visitors get to stay in their own private bungalow
Relaxing after a days work on the property :)
Visitors get to stay in their own private bungalow
Sunrise through the bush
Our pride and joy, putting food in our bellies and keeping us out of mischief!
Snow in Gordon. We get snow like this every few years. A wonderful event!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 376434583974