Help us to maintain an agroecological garden in María Pinto, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We maintain an agroecological garden and we are interested in leading a balanced life with our environment, responsible management of our waste and energy consumption and we have a fondness for appropriate technologies. In the place also live 3 cats and soon there will be two puppies and maybe poultry. We are a couple that enjoys cultural exchange, a good conversation and music lovers, art in any of its forms is always welcome.

    Mantenemos una huerta agroecológica y nos interesa llevar una vida equilibrada con nuestro entorno, una gestión responsable de nuestros residuos y consumo energético y tenemos afición por las tecnologías apropiadas. En el lugar también viven 3 gatos y próximamente habrán dos perritos y tal vez aves de corral.

    Somos una pareja que disfruta del intercambio cultural, de una buena conversación y amantes de la música, el arte en cualquiera de sus formas es siempre bienvenido.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is possible to learn from the agroecological management of a property and the different tasks that this entails. There is a great diversity of medicinal, aromatic and condiment species, vegetables and fruit trees. It is also possible to appreciate and observe large numbers of birds and insects.

    Es posible aprender de un manejo agroecológico de un predio y las diferentes labores que este conlleva. Existe una gran diversidad de especies medicinales, aromáticas y condimenticias, hortalizas y árboles frutales. Además es posible apreciar y observar gran cantidad de aves e insectos.

  • Help

    Help

    Eager to co-work, establish a connection with the place and contribute from your instinct and own knowledge. There are daily tasks where an extra hand is always welcome and sometimes more intensive tasks are done, especially in summer harvests and the production of homemade products.


    Ganas de co-laborar, establecer una conexión con el lugar y aportar desde su instinto y conocimientos propios. Existen labores cotidianas donde siempre es bienvenida una mano extra y en ocasiones se realizan labores más intensivas, sobre todo en las cosechas estivales y la elaboración de productos caseros.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room, can include one or two single beds (1 place) or a 2-person bed if preferred. There is a shared bathroom and the kitchen of the house is freely available. In addition there is an exterior house, which can be enabled in case of requiring more privacy.

    Habitación de huésped, puede incluir una o dos camas simples (1 plaza) o una cama de 2 plazas de ser preferido. Existe un baño compartido y la cocina de la casa es de libre disposición. Además hay una casita exterior, que puede ser habilitada en caso de requerir mayor privacidad.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town is located 1 hour from the capital, Santiago. Here you will find banking services, bus and rail stations, as well as a wide range of restaurants, bars and cultural activities. It is also 1 hour from the coastal area and 20 minutes from the city of Melipilla or Curacaví. It is a rural area, very quiet, where rural life is preserved and there is not much commercial infrastructure. However, there is a satellite internet connection and telephone, so connectivity is not a problem.

    La localidad está ubicada a 1 hora de la capital, Santiago. Aquí encontrarás servicios bancarios, estaciones de buses y ferrocarriles, así como una amplia oferta de restaurantes, bares y actividades culturales.
    Se encuentra también a 1 hora de la zona costera y a 20 minutos de la ciudad de Melipilla o Curacaví.
    Es una zona rural, muy tranquila, donde se conserva la vida campesina y no existe mucha infraestructura comercial. De todas maneras existe conexión de internet satelital y teléfono por lo que la conectividad no es un problema.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 989834723263