Help needed on communal living, eco-project in Evia, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 733 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    Welcome to our farm paliomilos where we are two couples to live together: Franzi and Giorgos (from Germany and Greece), Iris and Jeroen (from the Netherlands). Our main activity is olive cultivation but we also have animals (sheep, chickens and ducks) and our goal is to become more diverse by planting other kinds of tree.
    A big disaster occurred here last August, the whole pine forest right next to our house burnt down together with a third of our olive grove and partly the house. We rebuilt it but there is still a lot of construction work to be done.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn about cooking and eating local and homemade products. Some things about olive farming, general animal and tree care and how permaculture might give a different perspective to the common practices. You would also be able to participate in the organization of a small festival which will take place on our farm at the end of April.

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks to help with would be gardening (the garden is not commercial, but has a significant size as we also produce the veggies needed for preserves for the winter), construction work (lean-to, dry toilets, stages for the festival), burnt olive trees processing, and festival organization.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Before April, we can only accept people with their own camper van/car. From April to October, you put up your tent in the olive grove. You should bring your own gear.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There s plenty of things to do around here. The sea is just 30 minute walk away, a beautiful river is 200m away where you can swim in the summer. I climb at place near by, so ones that want to join on a day off are very welcome. You can hike or cycle to the surrounding mountain peaks.
    There is a bus that comes to (and leaves from ) the village of Rovies from Athens 3 times a day. But I ll send you more info if this is needed later on.

    Few things that is good to know before you come here. this is not to scare you away but to have a better understanding in case you want to stay longer.
    There are always things to do and in general some of us are very busy, even though having a good time is also part of keeping busy. you are expected to be an active member of a communal living and not just a visitor, if you look for a place to work a few hours and then have a complete disconnected life then this is not the place for you. there is no expert here to teach anything and we all learn together experimenting with various things, gardens, food preservation, natural construction. we live simple, there is no fixed internet in the house (but ιn the village 2km away, or using phones), we use a compost toilet with a bidet. In general self initiative, respect to the group and responsibility are quite important for a smooth cohabitation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. In general we dont live to work but work to live, so everyday is full of work but also everyday has its holidays (swimming, chilling, playing music, games) so depends on the visitor to choose between having a fixed



















Host ref number: 646638768665