Come help out in this artist-run quasi-homestead space. Maine, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Housed in a former canning factory straddling a stream and situated right off a tidal inlet, we offer performances and residencies of contemporary experimental art with a focus on sound and the word. We also host community events from weekly knitting circles to occasional potluck movie nights. Some spaces are seasonal (May through October) but there are 2 performance spaces, a library, a 400 sq. ft. garden, a greenhouse, a bassoon-making workshop and studio, a hen-house and several thousand square feet of studio, workshop, and raw space.

    We --Leslie (bassoon-maker, visual/video/sound artist, and performer) and Zeke (a writer and English teacher)-- moved to Maine five years ago after spending decades living in NYC and live in the building with three cats and a dozen canaries. While we miss many aspects of the city, we are very happy to be in a stunning landscape with its own share of art, artists, politics, life...

    As artists ourselves, we are happy to share some of the bountiful space as studio space for a workawayer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are lifelong artists, activists, readers, lovers of good food and community. We are happy to share our skills, knowledge and experience with you--from composing and sound editing to knitting and carpentry, to writing and other fields of art and practical and theoretical concern, including the history of philosophy, gardening & more. A dozen or so times through the year, mostly in summer (but not just!), touring and traveling artists visit and work and present new works. Exchanges are rich and open. We look forward to learning from you too!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to work and participate on any of several fronts:
    -promotion, documentation, web-design, hosting and other aspects of running an in-house performance space;
    -gardening, greenhouse and hen-house work;
    -helping with the creation of site-specific sound and history installations;
    -the maintenance and transformation of some of the building space.

    Skills in gardening, web design, audio recording, carpentry, even proof-reading and editing are appreciated, but we are happy to train in these and multiple other craft sets. We are looking for someone who is eager to learn, imaginative, possessed of initiative, capable of working on their own part of the time, and also committed to working with others to tend and build physical, conceptual, artistic, and social space.

    Most active times are May through September, but we can always use help. There is always web design work, work with putting up videos of past performances or putting up schedules of future ones. There is never a shortage of construction and maintenance work and projects, from cedar shingling to clearing out different parts of the building, from gardening to snow shoveling and wood stacking.

    When you contact us, we can give you a more up-to-date account and better idea of what we'd be doing during your time with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The 10,000 sq ft building has many beds, ranging from several private rooms to semi-private lofts. Season permitting, we are happy to accommodate workers in any of these per their preference. We could also easily accommodate a tent on our property. Our living space and kitchen is communal which we are happy to share. In winter, as much of the building is left unheated we only have one extra private room and a bed in the common room. The common room is an open loft space with living room, kitchen, large table, the loft library, wood cookstove and wood stove.

    Most meals are communal with most of the produce supplied. We are not vegetarian but rarely eat meat except for occasional fish. We expect a reasonable involvement and help with food and preparation

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a very small village on a unique peninsula with a long history of small organic farms and crafts of all sorts from potters to boat builders. We are a two-minute walk from the bay's edge, a three-minute walk to a general store, a ten-minute drive to the nearest town (complete with galleries, one of the best coffee roasters in Maine, a natural foods co-op, a chocolate shop, a library, a bookstore, a fine wine and cheese shop...), a thirty-minute drive to a busier town, and a fifty-minute drive to a small city. We are an hour away from Acadia National Park, but there are plenty of beautiful walks and sights right near us.

    In summer months (June through September) on most days the water in the bay is warm enough to swim in (as opposed to the normal frigid waters of the open sea up here).

    We have a car (manual) that we are willing to share and are happy to give rides when convenient. We also have several bicycles, though the biking in the area is not ideal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

a sound installation
silent movie night & potluck dinner
a concert
a sound installation
a September day harvest
a back yard visitor (and occasional chicken snatcher!)
fall sunset out the back door
summertime view from the back deck
audience at a concert
Host ref number: 634582566594