Experience the farm life on a small hobby farm in Missouri, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 282 times
  • Last activity: 20 Mar 2023




  • Description


    Come and enjoy the farm life while spending time with all our animals and seeing the local area. Sit down with us and tell us about your travels and culture. Learn about living the quiet life outside of the office and city while sitting around a campfire or drinking tea or coffee on our screened in deck overlooking our goats.

    **Spring and Fall times are our busiest times**
    In the Spring we are getting things cleaned up and ready for the year, planting and preparing the gardens, waiting for and taking care of new babies born on the farm, and any projects that we have planned or need completed before the weather gets too hot. Fall time is when we are cleaning up the gardens and preparing them for the winter, breeding our animals so they have springtime babies, finishing up any projects that were not able to be completed earlier in the year as well as getting things closed up for the winter.

    **Summer and Winter are our slowest times due to the weather conditions but we like the company of other people and these are the times where we can just enjoy spending time getting to know someone and share experiences and stories. There are some daily chores that need to be completed daily no matter what the weather is such as feeding and caring for the animals.**
    During the summer we are harvesting crops out of our gardens, tending to daily animal care, and some special projects as they pop up. During this time we try to work early morning and end before it gets too hot during the day. Winter time we are feeding the animals hay as well as normal daily animal care and fixing/cleaning any damage from winter storms.

    **We are looking for some cultural exchange as well in the slower times to meet and share experiences with new people**
    We always love having a nice cultural exchange with people learning about them and their families as well as where they come from and where they have been. We love spending free time with the workawayers and we know some people like to have their alone time as we do enjoy the occasional alone time ourselves.

    We are a small family hobby farm on about 30 acres in southwest Missouri located in the Ozarks. I live here on property with my parents that are in their early and late 70's. We like to joke around and laugh a lot we are very kind and caring people that enjoy the company of others where we can exchange stories and experiences with each other. My dad and I have both served in the military and we have traveled the world and both spent some time in Germany where we were stationed at Army bases (at different times of course since my dad will be turning 85 this year). We have goats, free range chickens and ducks, one mini donkeys, a horse henny, and 6 cows. We have two large outdoor gardens and a large greenhouse where we love to grow all types of fruits and vegetables. Come be a part of our family and enjoy spending time on the farm from feeding the animals carrots, letting the young goats jump all over you, the ducks quacking for treats at our garage door, walking around the property on our trails, learn how to drive a tractor and use other machinery (you never have to try anything you do not want), driving our Utility Vehicles (Polaris Rangers), and exploring the surrounding area with our family as we enjoy showing and taking people to do fun things on the down time. Two of us are smokers but we do not smoke in our house we only smoke outside.

    We do have 2 small dogs and 2 larger dogs that are indoor dogs and very friendly.

    While you are here you will have access to WiFi at all times.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am in my early 40's and live on the farm with my elderly parents in their 70's. My dad and I are military veterans and have done a lot of traveling. I have learned a lot about the farm animals and am the primary one that takes care of them. We hope to be able to teach someone the joys of owning and caring for animals or for someone to be able to teach us what they know. We have lived in many large cities and now have settled down in the country enjoying the farm life and we would like to share this lifestyle with others that might be interested in some or all parts of this lifestyle. While you are here you will be able to see and experience things such as babies being born, seeing how to properly care for and raise free range chickens, and other animals and lots of other small farm things. So come on over and better your English in a beautiful country farm setting.

  • Help


    We are looking for workawayers that want to help out with some of the daily chores and spend time with our family in a cultural exchange. We enjoy meeting new people and considering them family when they leave. There are a lot of things that can be done around our farm depending on your comfort level and skill level. Anything around the farm can be easily learned. Some of the things that can be done are:

    Pulling weeds
    Picking vegetables

    Daily feeding
    Assisting in giving shots and medicine
    Grooming and hoof care
    Gathering eggs (The chickens are free range so the eggs can be anywhere)
    Filling water troughs
    Mucking stalls

    *House help*
    Emptying Dishwasher
    Taking out trash

    Fixing fences
    Building fences
    Hauling downed branches
    and many other things.

    We also welcome those looking for just a cultural exchange and have special skills such as artist, painter, musician or any other possible skill that is out there. We love to spend time sitting around a campfire and having someone sing or play an instrument would be greatly welcomed. We understand if you want alone time to help or just relax but we always welcome you to immerse yourself into our family life and spend your free time with us. We like to do a lot of fun things in our downtime some are around the farm some are in the local area. We are able to host a few workaways at a time and you will always have a private room with a door.

    We have several special projects that come up from time to time as well as special projects we would like to get completed. For the special projects skills such as, construction, woodworking, heavy lifting/hauling, painting, and others.

    *We do not require a minimum length of stay and you are always welcome to shorten your stay for any reason at anytime. If for any reason you feel that you are not getting the experience here that you thought you would or for any other reason we are happy to help accommodate you in any way that we can. We do not get up set if our farm isn't quite the place you were hoping for. We value and appreciate honesty. We are more than happy to assist you with finding a new work away host and getting you to the airport, bus, or train station so you can continue on with your journey or return home. We are very flexible and most time we are happy to allow you to extend your stay with us as well if things are going well and that is something you wish to do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own private bedroom with a full size bed, shared bathroom, and shared kitchen. I am in my 40's and live on the property with my elderly parents in their early and late 70's who are very active on the farm. We have a router so you can have your own WiFi access. We live on a 30 acre farm just 30 minutes west of Springfield, MO and within about an hour to Branson. We like to sit down for family meals sometimes once a day in the evenings but there is access to food in the house 24/7. We do not have any dietary requirements in this house but we respect those that want to eat what makes them happy. We do not cook any special type of meals but we are more than happy to get the food items from the store for you that you can cook.

    We are only about a 30 minute drive away from the Springfield/Branson Airport and can pick you up and drop you off at anytime for your arrival and departure.

    There is a bus station located in Springfield that is about 30 minutes away and a bus station located in Joplin which is about 45 minutes away and we are able to pick you up or drop you off there at anytime as well.

    *Getting around the local area*
    We do not have a taxi, Uber, or Lyft out here so its all by personal vehicle. You do have the option of renting a car at the airport but you don't need to. You are always welcome to go with us whenever we go anywhere. We usually drive into town 1 to 2 times a week. Town is only a 15 minute country drive away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Having a vehicle or renting a vehicle is the best if you want to get around outside of the farm on your own.

    We are only a little over an hour from Branson, MO which is a big tourist spot. There are lots of beautiful national parks in northern Arkansas with caves and waterfalls. There are casinos in eastern Oklahoma just about 45 minutes away. We are called the "Four States" area because all are so close. We are also within about 45 minutes to Stockton Lake where there is always good fishing or a great day at the swim beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have WiFi in the house with good connection speeds.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week maximum

Host ref number: 155245471616

Feedback (5)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)

Help develop a performance art program on the coast of Maine, USA
Join our family as we get settled into a new home on the island of Alameda, CA, USA