Help us to create a place of abundance, a healthy ecosystem in Sandomil, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The project is to create a place of abundance, a healthy ecosystem that thrives, where basic needs are met easily. A space where gift economy is possible where we give our time because it is our wish and not because we have to. When we are not working for survival but because we enjoy it then we are more creative!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lots of skills to learn. From quarrying our own rocks to building with wood. Agroforestry and growing food in general. I also practice lot of different juggling arts as they are my main income.

  • Help

    Help

    I don't expect travellers to give a specific number of hours of help as a trade to stay here with us in the valley. If totally dependent on the project for food and accommodation an average of 2 hours per day, 14 per week, should be fair trade. It is also possible to contribute to the project by bringing food to share (usually easier for people travelling by van) in that case an hour would be the minimum help per day. This hour/s can be dedicated to any of the projects happening on the farm but does not include every day life tasks such as cooking or keeping communal spaces clean. Those tasks will be shared between the community and unless you specifically ask to not do that, cooking is one of the task of our daily life. Projects happening will certainly include building with wood, stone and other local materials. Gardening: planting, watering, irrigation systems, pruning. Kitchen: making jams, chutneys and other conserves. These are general examples of what might be happening but when deciding to come you can ask what in specific are the projects happening at the moment on the land. (e. G. Building a new roof, creating microdams for irrigation or hydropower etc... )

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For now workawayers are expected to sleep in tents vans or hammocks and in case of very rough weather I can host indoor

    There are three meals a day breakfast lunch and dinner and fruits to eat in between.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At the base of the Serra de Estrella lots of hiking and lots of mountain Rivers and waterfalls to explore. The city of Coimbra is only one hour away and I often go there to work with juggling so it is possible to go visit the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size of van should be able to reach the parking and have enough place to stay but the number of vans is limited. Trucks are probably to big to access

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No maximum or minimum left to the conscious discretion of each guest max 4h per day 5 day a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 869812151459