Help out at a Creative Events Centre in the wilds of Upper Franconia, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 427 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayer/s

    We are family Mitchell; Peter and Silka, Leonard 17, Edgar 15, Erik 8 and Parker 3 dog years! We share this rambling place with a brood of chickens, a hutch of bunnies and a nesting falcon family.

    After years of living in East London chasing the pound and ensconced in the rat-race, we decided the time was right for a complete change of lifestyle and some 'fresh air'! So here we are living in a remote farming village by the wild woods of Upper Franconia in northern Bavaria. A decision also prompted by the arrival of a new member of the family in Nov 2011. Erik was born in London but won’t remember much as he was only there for 40 days!

    Our mission is to turn this dilapidated farm into an inspiring place for events and creative output. It's a fairly big task, which is why we're looking for help and enthusiasm.

    The place includes 3 acres of garden and woods with five buildings in various states of condition. We're looking for help with both the land and buildings, ongoing artworks and help round the house such as cooking, cleaning or playing with the boys. Jobs on the land include building ‘natural fences‘ through the woods and stocking firewood for the winter, restoring the vegetable garden, clearing the small beck, or unwanted trees from the woods and much more...taking the boys to the pool! If you're interested then we're the 'green heart' on the satellite image of the village: Weissenbach, Wirsberg.

    The area has a big scale about it, large wild forests, rolling hills and ruggedly beautiful landscape. Weissenbach is a small active village (approx 120 inhabitants) situated at the end of the road, so there's no through traffic. The area beyond is forest and fields, other than the Buddhist Monastery, which is about a 30-minute walk through the woods. The nearest shops and bar are in Wirsberg, 3km down the road.

    We're an open minded, well travelled family who love to work hard, eat well and have fun and we would like to offer volunteers the same in a beautiful place with good air and a wonderful array of bird song.

    We have bicycles to lend for fantastic on and off-road cycling, including a lovely cycle path to the historic town of Kulmbach, famous for beer making and the Plassenberg Castle with the largest lead soldier collection in the world! We're surrounded by wonderful woodland walks and there's a great outdoor swimming pool and water slide nestled in the tree lined valley about a 15 minute bike ride from our place.

    This is a great place for anyone who wants to hear themselves think! The air is wonderful, the area is charming and I'd like to think we are a positive and fun bunch to work with.

    ps. we love music.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anyone interested in design and art can benefit from our experience of over 25 years working in this field. They can be part of the journey of developing a project aimed to benefit the local community and attract tourism to an area once well populated by visitors. We speak both German and English in the home and have travelled, lived and worked in a number of other continents.

  • Help

    Help

    Works to beautiful old timber barn
    Cutting dead trees out of woods
    Preparing firewood for winter
    Caring for the vegetable and fruit garden, chickens and rabbits.
    Building living fences through woods
    Preparing barn & studio for next events
    Cooking & helping in the house
    Playing lego with Erik our 8 year old!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One double bedroom in main house
    Three bedrooms in small house
    Two ‘Hay hotels‘ in main barn
    Wide range of other tents and camping equipment
    Use of own kitchen, bathroom and toilet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local area is full of beautiful, unspoilt walks through sweeping valleys and huge pine forests. There is also a very small Thai buddhist monastery nestled within the woods, approximately 25 mins walk from our home, which offers daily group meditation sessions.

    Kulmbach is our nearest town, a one hour cycle away with a picturesque historic castle, beer museum and cobbled back streets. Bayreuth, famous as the birth place of the composer Richard Wagner is a 15 minute train ride and worth a visit for shopping, the Wagner museum, Ermitage park etc. Bamberg is the third of the three historic towns in the near to us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 max (25 hours per week), 2 days off

Studio and Barn
Family Mitchell in 'Sunday best'!
Hay Hotel
Inside main barn
Workshop during winter
Spring view from office
Winter view from office
View south from village
Fresh eggs
Girl power
Village Pond
Local forest
Little house big house!
Beginnings of veg garden































Host ref number: 622364641716