Help our family at our home in Hamburg, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 1300 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    63  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a bi-lingual English/German family of 5 (plus a dog) living on the outskirts of Hamburg (S-Bahn an 8 minute walk).

    We have 3 children (17, 19 & 20) who are now only sporadically at home. We are looking for support with general household chores: driving, cooking, gardening, walking the dog and for my business any knowledge of social media, wordpress / databases would be a great help.

    The accommodation offered would be comfortable, a bedroom with an en-suite bathroom in the main house. So far our workaway experience has been fantastic, we have really loved having such a broad spectrum of people staying with us and we really enjoy sharing our knowledge of the culture here as well as whatever we can do to help you explore the area.

    It is ideal to combine a language course in Hamburg with your workaway experience and there are plenty of schools in the area.

    We often like to host 2 workawyers as we see wonderful friendships evolve and they have someone to explore the area with. We are a lively family and are looking for someone who has initiative as well as a sense of humour and who is happy to muck in with an uncomplicated but energetic family. There is never a dull moment with us and we often have visitors, it is not though guaranteed who will be at home as my children are now independent (more or less!).

    The location is well connected by train and you would be in the centre of Hamburg in 25 minutes. It is a beautiful area with plenty of activities on offer from walking, biking, tennis to horse-riding, golf, football and hockey. Swimming is in the local lake in the summer, the setting is idyllic but with an excellent infrastructure.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak a mixture of English and German on a daily basis.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We embrace workawayers for the different skills that they have. It would be a bonus though if you can cook and if you have experience with Excel/databases/website design (wordpress) that would be a real plus for us and even more so if you are a dab hand at DIY!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable bedroom with en-suite bathroom in a recently renovated villa. Garden and bike.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The city of Hamburg is situated in the north approx. 1.5 hours from Berlin by train. It has a well-deserved reputation as Germany's Gateway to the World and is very international. It is the country's biggest port and the second-busiest in Europe.

    It is also Germany's second largest city with a population of over 1.8 million and the Greater Hamburg Metropolitan Region has a population of over four million. Hamburg is proud of its status as a "Free and Hanseatic City" and thus shares the same status as a province, making up one of Germany's 16 federal-states or Bundesländer. There is plenty of diversity on offer as it is a beautiful city with plenty of water and many different vistas as well as rich cultural diversity.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a decent wifi connection and you would have your own space to work in.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






































Host ref number: 615999279583