Help start a home for art and quiet in Castanheira de Pera, Portugal

  • Favourited 94 times
  • Last activity: 19 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description



    Im Liran. Im Israeli-British by passport, 34 years old and have moved to portugal last year.
    I bought a house here, which I am slowly discovering is perfect for me, in an area that I am discovering and loving more and more.

    Im hoping to make this house a home. For me, for my friends, for travellers- and for art and music. A semi-home semi-art-studio semi-place-for-quiet-life.

    Before this, I’ve been working with teenagers for 10 years. in many teaching positions. (craft, writing, language..) All to find ways to talk and be next to kids while they grow up.

    Besides, I busk when i can, and tend to move around too much, in my opinion.

    So i´m trying to stay.
    To have a place to come back to.
    to try and build with nature, or without disturbing it.
    To wake up and hear birds,
    Not cars
    or chain saws.

    I really treasure the quiet, playing music, and going to rivers.


  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the village, everything is very local and there is a nice mix between portugueese families and people from around Europe who moved to the area. In your free time you could go to meet locals, walk around in nature or join me with my friends when we hang out or drive somewhere.

    I will make sure to take you around the nature places, which I like visiting myself. If you are interested in learning or participating in any of the creative things I do in my free time, you will be mostly welcome to join, unless said otherwise.

  • Help


    - Cleaning, tidying up, decluttering in all rooms and land- dirty work (-:

    - Outdoor-areas to plan and create:
    outdoor shower, spiral garden, path opening, no dig firepit.

    - Painting jobs in and out of the house.

    - moving stuff around, disessembeling and reusing old furniture.

    - tiling different spaces.

    -planting and watering

    - sewing (with sewing machine)

    As to more skilled work:
    - permaculture design for all the land space I have
    - creating an art studio space
    - supporting with fixing leaks and waterproofing walls
    - carpentery- building furniture, very welcome!

    To be my "practice students" for:

    - notebook making
    - creative writing
    and help develope the workshops.
    that is something for longer stays

    AND to have your own ideas and skills to share.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Private room in the house, with cozy bed. or you can pitch a tent in the garden or terrace (Best view!)
    shared toilet and shower in a seperate room.

    there are many public spaces to hang out in the house and around it.

    and there is just really incredible view of the mountains!

    There is good reception, and wifi from my hotspot.
    Basic kitchen and gas for cooking.
    (important to mention I dont have an oven yet...)

    No parking space for campers..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a little village of oldies, and me!
    Its 15 minutes walk or 4 minute drive to castanheira de pera, a beautiful tiny town with supermarkets, cafes, restaurants and a lovley river and public wave pool (in summer)

    By car :

    Poco Corga, Praia das rocas (5 minutes)
    Fragas de São Simão (20 minutes)
    Talasnal (Aldeias de xisto)- (30 minutes)

    Closest beach (hour twenty)
    Closest city- coimbra

    And just water sources and green all around

    There are buses to Lisbon. I tend to drive There some weekends.

    It is very quiet
    No crazy night life
    Its somewhere to come for quiet time, with nature and space.

    The house is in very basic condition. some parts are messy and the living conditions are basic, which I find extremely healthy and healing, but its not for everyone. please ask me for more details if you feel that you are not as flexible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    well... I could. I also work online and manage. But you are better off having some sort of wifi, since I use my sim card which wont always be availeble. Lets say, it's a possibility that we should talk about first (-:

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 615481669749

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Share our family life and enjoy horse-riding, natural construction and much more in Barao de Sao Miguel, Portugal
Help around my home and with creating a dog rescue in Freguesias de Insalde, Portugal