Help at a dog and cat sanctuary on Ko Samui, Thailand

  • Favourited 632 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ** We will only answer to those who fully read through our profile. Thank you! Please note that this place is NOT for you if you seek easy work and free accommodation. No meals provided. **

    ARE YOU THE RIGHT PERSON FOR THIS WORKAWAY?
    If you answer yes to the following questions:
    - Can you fully commit to a miminum of 4 weeks? We prioritize those who can stay even longer.
    - Are you happy to work with BOTH dogs and cats? We do have cat and dog shifts depending on the day and you will not be able to choose a side ;)
    - Can you handle the combination of physical work, being surrounded by packs of dogs and cats & the heat?
    - Can you handle the same routine of cleaning, walking the dogs & feeding every single day (excl. your days off)?
    - Are you fine being surrounded by nature & locals in a very quiet area?
    - Partying is not your priority?

    If you answer one of these with no, this place won't make you happy ;)

    This sanctuary provides a safe home for around 50 dogs & 35 cats and is run by a Belgian woman named Francoise. She has lived on Koh Samui for many years, dedicating her life to helping animals in need and giving them a loving home. The sanctuary is in a jungle setting and has no direct neighbours; therefore, the dogs can be walked in packs without the worry of disturbing others. The whole sanctuary relies solely on kind donors and Workawayers like you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helping out at the sanctuary is very rewarding, but can be challenging both physically and mentally. To have a great time here and learn as much as possible, you need to be an animal, but especially dog and also cat lover!!

  • Help

    Help

    MUST READ

    This is not to scare anyone off, but to just give an important input as to what to expect. Your commitment is important: short-notice cancellations & people that are leaving earlier than planned are putting Francoise, but especially the animals, in a very hard position.

    * There is a lot of cleaning involved. Every single day. Sweeping, mopping, doing the dishes, cleaning dog poo, raking and lots more. Basically all of the work, except the cuddling, is physical work.
    * A specific daily routine followed by Workawayers is especially important for any place with a high amount of animals.
    * Lots of names and things to learn, cats and dogs in one place, the heat - the first days can be overwhelming, that is totally normal. Try to stay attentive and ask questions, you will see that within only a week it will be so much easier already.
    * Please keep in mind that this is a sanctuary, which focuses on providing animals a safe home for the rest of their lives – those who have had a tough life before coming here. There is no high turnover of animals. Adoptions to good homes are welcome though, of course.
    * Arrive in clothes ready to get dirty!!
    * Freshly cooked food is provided for our animals which consists of rice, fish and meat. If you're a vegan (like many of our volunteers), please beware :)
    * If you plan on just coming for volunteering, consider some days before and/or after for traveling/sightseeing only, so you won’t have to change dates once you are here! Also, if you fly directly from f.e. Europe or the US, you might need some resting time before starting.
    * There is no Wifi, but cheap SIM cards incl. internet data can be bought at many different places.
    * Even though the sanctuary is located away from the touristy places, prices (f.e. international restaurants, taxis) may be higher than in other parts of Thailand.
    * You should not be scared to drive a scooter/motorbike, so you can easily get to/from the sanctuary and discover the island during your free time. You can rent them in the area & in Lamai. Any other transportation will be expensive. Fyi - a license from your home country is required for your insurance to cover an accident/hospitalisation.

    WHAT YOU SHOULD BRING

    The sanctuary needs people who are committed to the cause. Even in their free time. You should be here for the animals - not to nurture your ego, seek free accommodation or meet lots of people. You should be a team player that is easy-going, self-motivated, with common sense - time usually doesn't allow Francoise to give lots of feedback, as she's busy with the animals! If any of the above is not the case, Workawayers might be asked to leave.

    You're still interested? No need for long messages ;) BUT please send us a message with the following:
    // In your subject line: "Workexchange" & your preferred arrival month
    // My experience with dogs/cats is:
    // Date & amount of months I would like to come for:
    This is so we can already see who's read through our profile :) In English please, as former volunteers help with the communication!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Thai: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    See picture in the gallery - Wooden Thai style house, simple and not luxurious. Shared living and sleeping space, kitchen and bathroom. Can house up to 6 people. Couples usually get a room to themselves, but not guaranteed - please ask for more info. The house is surrounded by the jungle, in a Thai neighbourhood - being part of their community (no partying). Everything is quite open. Mosquito nets are usually provided, but you should not be afraid of insects. Within driving (scooter) distance to the sanctuary and local beach. No air-con, just fans. Mattresses are hard, which is common in Asia. Cats might be staying with you - not good for anyone with allergies :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll be having a great time with all the animals and humans, in addition to living on beautiful Koh Samui, experiencing Thai culture and food at its best. It is an exciting island that has a lot to offer: waterfalls, yoga retreats, Muay Thai and fitness gyms, late night markets, Thai cooking classes, kite boarding schools, snorkelling trips and boat trips.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours/day, 1-2 days off

Host ref number: 169925539197

Feedback (37)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)















































Join our social center's mission in teaching, gardening, coffee project marketing in Lampang, Thailand
Come and help in Ko Phayam, Ranong province, Thailand