Help on our small-scale hop organic farm in Méteren, Northern France

Country

France

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    We are in a little farm, in the Northern part of France, near Lille and Belgium.
    I came back on the farm three years ago to grow organic hop. We also take care of a little apple orchard.
    My parents are also on the farm. As my mum was primary-school teacher on the farm, we are used to welcome and host people.
    It's a very happy and simple farm, a very nice place to live in, work together and rest when needed!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We've lived here, in the Flanders for more than 30 years and we really like this region.
    Our farm is an organic small-scale farm willing to be autonomous. We initiate projects to deal with climate change and the upcoming issues.
    We are welcoming and always ready to share our experience.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly work on the hop crops and the orchard. Thus, it means, we also do all the works related to this culture (building tools, preparing the orders...). Then, we take care of the farm, the animals we have there. We also spend time with visitors and friends!

    From February to march, we prepare the hop yard for the upcoming year, we take off the old rope, count the missing plants, take away some weeds...). In the orchard, we prune the trees, we plant the new trees.
    In April, we attached the ropes from the hop yard to the ground for the hop to grab on. We can plant the missing plants.
    In May, we hep te hop to grab on the ropes if it hasn't been able to get there itself. We need to take of some weeds as well. We set up the irrigation system in case there are some drought.
    In June we need to take care of the plant with natural treatment and spraying. We also help te hop growing better by making small hills around the base of the plant.
    In July, we keep on taking of the weeds, we water the hop, we give natural treatments.
    In August, we start preparing the harvest, we start the different machine, clean the barn, start the dryer/kiln... We also start the apple picking.
    In September, here come the harvest. It's the big moment of the year : we take the bones from the field, introduce them in the harvester, gather the hop cones, dry them for 8 hours.
    Then we prepare the hops into pellets and prepare the orders, this is in October. In October, we also harvest the last apples, sell them or make apple juice. We plant little hop plants for next year.
    In November, we deliver the hop, we clean the fields, we take off the irrigation system, we graze the grass in the hop yard before the winter.
    In December, we repair the machine, take care of the farm, we keep on selling the apple and the apple juice...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room in our house, with all needed accommodations. A nice living room, a fireplace. Wifi... But the atmosphere in the farm is the best part of the place, little gardens, a few nice animals (goats, tiny pony, cats, hens...), many trees...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many nice places to visit around and hike. Lille is half an hour away, by car or by train. Belgium is just a few miles away, Brugges is less than an hour away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 589771481399