To the rhythm of the seasons from city life to the wilderness in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 218 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there, we are looking for trusted and motivated people for general house work in Tuscany countryside, please see our description below if you're interested in spending one or two weeks with us (and our animals) surrounded by nature!

    ///

    Hello everybody! We are Tommaso and Alessia from Italy.

    A few years ago, after an exciting volunteering experience, we moved from the city to the mountain, to start a new life project in close contact with wilderness and natural rhythms. We lived three years in the Alps, in a tiny and lonely village 1400m above sea level, then we moved to the Tuscan Appennines (close to Alpe della Luna) 700m where we settled down in a old-fashioned stone house, surrounded by woods and wild animals.

    We both work from home, and that's why we ask our guests to be as quiet and respectful as possible during our working hours. Alessia is a biologist working for the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), currently involved in the Red List project about species conservation in the world. Most of the time, she can manage her job even in the middle of an alien landing. Tommaso is a graphic designer and writer, when he feels inspired he can bury himself in his studio up to starve. Especially when he is writing, he is allergic to every noise above 0,001 decibels.

    Some people think we are always on holiday just because we don't go to the office, but that's much far from reality. We work hard everyday, and often we are forced to sit at our desks for hours to find the right concentration and inspiration. This not means you'll be alone the whole day: we spend a lot of time gardening, houseworking or walking, and be sure there will be time enough for socializing during meals: we are Italians and our lunches and dinners can last for ages!

    We grow a vegetable garden and take care of two cats, two dogs, an exuberant rooster and a bunch of funny hens. They are all considered part of the family, they have their spaces and habits and guests are asked to understand and respect them. We do not eat our pets of course (including the hens), and in return they usually do not eat or bully our guests (I'm just kidding, they do).

    Our diet is basically vegetarian, but you are allowed to eat or cook almost any kind of food (not our hens!) and maybe we'll taste it as well.

    We are trying to have a sustainable life, living as green as possible and the workawayer has to be interested to live in such a system. This means a responsible use and consumption of electricity and water, such as:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Electricity and computers off, when you are not there
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Water from taps and shower as short as possible
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️When washing, always taking care that there is full machine.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️No waste of food

    We often host people at home, friends, acquaintances, travelers or just curious passing by. We are working to create a kind of "cultural farm", a place made of art, ideas, dreams, exchange, conviviality and love for nature.

    We are tolerant and open minded, but we do not accept any form of violence, racism, sexism, homophobia, prejudice and discriminations in general. If you like to dig, weed, clean, take care of animals, build and repair things and in general offer a helping hand, then we would like to hear from you! We especially like people who are attentive and orderly. We live rather isolated, so not the place for partiers.

    Since 2016 we tell our experience in a blog ("Al ritmo delle stagioni") and in 2017 we self-printed a book ("Un anno di vita in montagna"), which has had an unexpected success in Italy with thousands of copies distributed. By the way, we are working at a new book right now, so get ready: you could be part of the story :)

    PLEASE NOTICE:
    - We can't accept children here, because this place is not very childproof.
    - We don't host for gaining the italian citizenship.
    Thanks for your understanding!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guests could learn something about our culture and activities, such as gardening, cooking italian food, wildlife photography, nature and wild animals observation, making wicker baskets and so on.

    We used to speak a good english but it is a bit rusty right now. You should be patient and give us trust :)

  • Help

    Help

    In general we are looking for positive, curious and friendly people, who understand the spirit of a human and cultural exchange, with some experiences working outside (garden/vegetable garden), not afraid to get hands dirty and MOST OF ALL with a strong confidence with animals (they are free in the garden, and most of the time you'll be much in contact with them).

    During all seasons, it would be nice if they could help us in:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️gardening: cleaning and collecting small stones from the garden
    *️️️️️️️️️️️general house maintenance/painting walls/little renovation works and so on (carpenters, in-door designer or experienced craftsman are very welcome!)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️animal care: feeding them and taking care when they are outside in the garden
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️language practice (english or whatever)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️art/garden projects
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️house and pet sitting
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️participate in the household duties (cleaning, cooking, etc.)

    APRIL – JUNE
    - work outside in the vegetable garden
    - construction (fences, dry stone walls and much more)
    - take care of the gardens

    JULY – OCTOBER/NOVEMBER
    - take care of the gardens
    - harvest fruits, vegs, wallnuts and more
    - preserving harvest

    The weather in the mountains can change quickly. We have many hot days through the whole year when the sun's out and it can get pretty cold when there are rainy days. So bring clothes for all kind of weather situations in every season. Weatherproof jacket, work gloves, strong shoes (or boots) are essential. Our guests need to be self-sufficient once we explained daily job.

    *️*️*️ IMPORTANT *️*️*️

    If you would like to join us, we need to ask you to have insurance before traveling. We only host people with insurance. Thanks!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spacious and well equipped double room just for guests, with a double bed and a single bed. It can happens to share the room with other guests, but it's rare and we can talk about this in advance.

    The house has a shared kitchen, a small but cozy living room, some undefined rooms and two shared bathroom: for 99% we only use the toilet A, so you can consider toilet B almost like a private bathroom, and we'll do the same with the first one (note that "A" and "B" are not quality ratings!).

    We are renovating the house and some areas are still a big mess (not the ones mentioned before). We try to keep home clean and tidy, but take note this is a country house, with a large stove for heating (that means dust and firewood all around), cats and dogs always around (that means lot of hairs in the air), spiders and scorpions occasionally appearing and saying hello (rather than kill them, we gently accompany them to the door).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    How to get to our place --> If you don't have a private means of transport, the best way to reach our place is to catch buses from Arezzo or Sansepolcro, but they rides are very limited because the times and hte days of the races correspond to the school (Monday to Saturday). busfox.com/timetable/ is the website for Tuscany where you can find the timetables and calculate the route. It starts directly at the train station in Arezzo and can leave you at 6 km from the house (we can pick you up from there). For more information please contact us in advance and please try not to arrive on a Sunday (no bus coming up), grazie! Another way could be with hitchhiking, if you are comfortable with it, or blablacar to reach Arezzo or Sansepolcro, because it is not easy to find someone that ride to our village.

    Our house is quite isolated, there is only a bar a few meters away, but in the village (6 km from the house) you can find some shops: small grocery, pharmacy, post office, ATM and the bus station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 541492631548

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more