Help needed for a family in the Wairarapa, New Zealand


New Zealand


Favourited 365 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    We love having friendly people from worldwide to help with; house, animals, kids and garden. Come and join our family!😊. Accomodation available from the end of August 2 weeks from now only!!!🙀

    Big home, Lots of space. We are tidy, organised and busy. Rural life but close to the town of Masterton. Our nearest city is the very cool Wellington. So we are not isolated. 8kms to Masterton. We have a bike you can use. A spa pool/jacuzzi. We are Next to the river we go swimming there in summer. Gorgeous walks on the countryside all around us. We have wifi. The scenery is spectacular!
    Great job for someone who is tired of travelling and/or wants to stay in one comfortable place for a while. Also really great for someone who can drive. But not essential. (So on your time of you can drive to the best places. NZ can be difficult to see without your own transport.) But I can drive you to town if you don’t have a car and dont want to cycle.
    By the way....
    we prefer someone who has already experienced living for sometime with a real job, away from mum and dad, and knows how to be a grown up and use their initiative, 😉I have enough kids!! Also you must like kids. They are at school most of the time but of course at home a lot during the time of school holidays.
    See our references. Many thanks. Happy travels.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Typical kiwi life. Busy Mum and dad. Kids very busy too! We are happy to recommend things to do on your time off. If you do more than 4-5 hours we can give you that extra time off on other days of course to travel. This is not a business. It is a home for both of us. We enjoy having another helpful adult in the house. An extra family member. It is very quiet when kids at school. It really is great if you have your own car in this area, to allow you to visit the beaches and mountains, local transport is Really only available to take you from town to town. It does NOT take you to beaches mountains or the most beautiful special hidden places.

  • Help


    The chores are; helping with housework, garden,pets and kids.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French from school and bit of Spanish.

  • Accommodation


    The guest room is sunny warm luxurious with private bathroom and amazing views from every window. The house is modern, spacious and beautiful viewing over the whole countryside and hills. Friends have very large farm nearby for awsome walks. River next door for swimming.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our area is popular for mountain walks, vineyards (very good wines) and farming. (To get to the mountain walks you will need to drive or cycle, the bus does not go to the beach or mountains). Lots of rivers. The town has a great park nice for picnics, with a lake and easy walks. There’s a pool, library, post office, cinemas, museum/gallery, info centre, supermarkets, cafes, shops....everything you need in a town.
    There are four busy towns close to us and Masterton is our nearest (8kms), the capital city Wellington is just 90mins drive away. Or there is a train to Wellington from Masterton.
    The beaches are 45minute drive from our house (if you have a car). There is no bus to the beach. Lovely river to swim in nearby in the warm weather.

    From September to May we have nice weather. (17-39') lots of festivals and outdoor lifestyle events. Quiet time is from june to august inclusive, it is winter (4' -15' ) and can be wet and cold. Everyone hibernates and there are no public holidays in the winter!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Flexi.

Host ref number: 728562838134