Babysitter and house help in Umeå, capital of northern Sweden.

Country

Sweden

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    738

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are an international family living in the famous cultural city of northern Sweden, Umeå. Juan Carlos (Colombian) is doing his PHD at the University while Tara (Swedish) is employed at the local water company.

    We are passionate about sustainability projects in Umeå and at home. Projects include urban gardening and making consumable products (drinks, food, clothing etc) at home with local resources available.

    Since our daughter was born over 1 year ago we need help to take care of her and the household, especially so that both Juan and Tara can go to work. Also we have started some house renovation projects that we could use a hand with, like wallpapering and fixing floors

    Umeå is a fantastic city because it is a manageable size to get around in by bicycle or food while offering all the cultural perks of typical big city. There is big university and hospital which attract many international people. Also Umeå has beautiful nature in the city and surrounding areas, such as forests, rivers, lakes, small mountains etc.

    Our home is a big apartment located in Sofiehem, a calm neighborhood only 5- 10 min by foot/bike from hospital and the university.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We look forward to an exchange of food recipes and other experiences such as gardening knowledge. We can teach you about picking some wild edibles, such as berries, mushrooms, different greens etc. We can do different types of food preservation such as drying, fermenting, jam making and more.

    We are a trilingual household, (English, Spanish, Swedish) so the preferred language can be spoken.

    We have gained local knowledge for those interested in learning more about Umeå and the area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who likes children and can do babysitting. (Some orientation in pedagogies like Montessori or Waldorf is a bonus.) We also appreciate someone who can contribute some ideas to healthy and responsible cooking and living. Interest in other sustainability projects such as urban gardening is also a bonus.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Enligh, Spanish, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the apartment can be made available to host a work-awayer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Maalia, our daughter



Host ref number: 581716996858