Looking for a native English speaker to spend time with our kids and help with daily chores in Chambery, France

  • Favourited 63 times
  • Last activity: 11 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    HELP NEEDED END OF JUNE.

    We are a French couple Maud and Sébastien with 2 girls. Lily is 6 years old and Loïse is 3.5 years old. We live in Chambery, in the South East of France in the Alps. We are French but Maud speaks English to the girls and to Seb whenever the girls are around. We both work -except Wednesdays for Maud. Loïse started nursery school in September in the mornings only and Lily goes to school all day.

    We have travelled a lot before having the girls (Australia, India, Central America and South East Asia) and we’ve done lots of workaway/ volunteering everywhere we went, always loved it and only had great experiences. Now that we have settled in a house and built a family our goal is to keep up with our level of English and even if we travel less we’re still interested in cultural exchange. We try to host twice a year in automn and in spring.

    We try to limitate our impact on the environment by :
    - eating fresh food local, seanonal and organic. We eat fish and meat but not everyday.
    - biking or walking whenever possible
    - saving energy ( turning lights off when not needed...)
    - using water wisely (short showers...)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will share our daily way of life and we'll be happy and do our best to show you around. We are very busy because taking care two young girls is time consuming but we are also very active and always looking for fun things to do, especially at weekends.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 1 person, a native English speaker, interested to play with our kids and help around the house with whatever needs to be done / daily chores.
    We are looking for someone energetic easy going and quick to connect with kids. The idea is to spend quality time with them : playing with them, reading talking/asking them questions as much as possible so they practice speaking English.

    Help will mainly include: playing with the kids and cooking but it can also include cleaning, gardening, painting when needed. We offer food and accommodation in exchange of a maximum of 5 hours of work, 5 days a week.

    Loïse has started school but only in the morning so we will need help to pick her up for lunch and watch her during her nap until we get back for maybe 3 days a week. The other days it will probably be housework and spending time with the girls. Everyday will be different, so we will tell you the day before what we expect.

    If you want to learn French, it is not the right place as we will want to speak English only.
    Ideal time stay 2 to 3 weeks.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We want our girls to learn English and are interested in speaking English only.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room. We have wifi, we can lend you a bike, skis, a sledge...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an amazing area where we can enjoy the lakes and the mountains. We live in St Alban Leysse, in a house with a small backyard a few km away from Chambery. Chambery is reachable by bike (15min), by bus (20 min) or by foot (1 hour). We are located 20 min away from the cross country ski resort of la Féclaz and 45 min from the closest downhill ski resort. We are at the foot of the mountain if you like hiking... We are close to the lake of Aix les Bains, Aiguebelette....
    It is easy to get to Chambery by bus or train, we can pick you up from there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 919247379868

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)