updated  

Spend time in an Italian paradise in a quiet spot located near the coast in Buggio, Italy

  • Favourited 307 times
  • Last activity: 19 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My little Italian paradise is a quiet spot located less than a half hour from the hectic life on the coast. Here you hear the bees hum, the deer bark on the mountain and occasionally Ivana calling the cats in (she lives by the entrance of the village, where the bus lands).

    I grow a lot of vegetables all summer, enough to be self sustained. Farmers are welcome.

    I have remodeled a home and have a ruin attached that my previous workawayers have cleaned up for remodeling as well. There is still stuff to break down and haul away, and after that the task will be plastering the walls with cement. Physically hard.

    It's time to update my website. It has recently been transferred to Wordpress.
    I have a lot I need to upload. So a WordPress professional is very welcome.

    I love life in my very quiet environment, knowing I have access to the rest of real life only a half hour down the road.

    I have travelled extensively and seen the world. I still travel some. I love my home country Denmark, and sometimes I have people stay here to keep an eye on things and work, when I am not here.
    I enjoy visitors and have made friends from around the world, but I also need time to myself, so you have to enjoy the same.
    People here are really friendly and warm, but mainly older and initially somewhat reserved for other than the conversation they always offer at every encounter. Pigna, 3 km before our village, is very lively in the summer.

    I am a 1960 born female and have my BA in nursing science from Denmark. I have retired and now work voluntary over the internet, promoting gender equality world wide.
    I live by myself, as my five grown kids are all out of university and now working. One of my sons still working and living in California, where they were all born, and where I visit winters, and another son lives in Brooklyn NY. My three daughters currently live in Copenhagen.
    I spend a good part of my summers here in my Italian paradise.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The village (valley) offers authentic italian living, in the summer every village in the valley takes turn in hosting their village festas with food and live music, and they are always fun. Covid put a pause to that though, but now we are back on track.
    Although several foreign families own houses in the village, we are not a typical tourist spot.
    There is no cafe, no stores, no other kind of entertainment here - we offer mindful living and you must be prepared for that. If you need a more hectic life, do not chose Buggio for your destination.
    Pigna has it all, and is a 40 minute walk each way. But the bus drives four times a day except for Sundays, and that is only ten minutes.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love help with some building projects.

    I also grow my food, so daily gardening is required.
    For 2024, April will be a good time to wack the weed, turn the dirt, dig the trenches and plant the crops.

    I plan to build a garden house (4x4m), so someone skilled for that is welcome. I would like to install a small solar panel here.

    My web site is built on Wordpress and I could use help here.
    And any Mac-nerd is welcome.

    And then there is always general maintenance like sanding/repainting wood, scrubbing algae off the outdoor stairs, stacking firewood etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For my WorkAwayer I have an independent 1b/1b really cute two-story apt with a bedroom (bed:140x200) on the first floor, where also the shower bathroom is located, and a single bed upstairs in the kitchenette (small fridge, two burners, small el oven, sink, table). It has been recently remodeled to superb condition. This apt is for you. If you come as a couple, you stay here together.
    The apt is equiped with all you need. Please KEEP it clean and neat at all times while living there, and LEAVE it clean and neat for the next. Fluff your comforter and make your bed every day.
    You can use my laundry machine for full loads when needed.

    I am very social but I also need to work in my office, so you must be a person who is independent and able to care for yourself and your time. This is why I prefer couples to singles, as they can better keep each other company.

    There is fast speed internet in the apt.

    Since you are getting a complete apt to yourself and hrs are less than asked, YOU BUY YOUR OWN FOOD.
    From July you can take in the garden; zucchini, eggplant, tomatoes, celery, salads, kale etc. I have four chicken and can provide eggs, and I can bake you a rustic cia bread. You are welcome to drive with me when I shop for food at the coast.

    Each person works 15 hrs a week, and buys their own food.
    With special projects we can agree to 25 hrs/week/person and food included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My village is a 1500-year-old historic Hamlet, located in the mountains at the end of the road a 20 minute drive from the Mediterranian and an hour from Nice, France. It is rural living, no stores, no cafes or else, but a daily bus that arrives four times a day except for Sundays. 5 km before us is Pigna, a larger village, that has all the basics (cafes, restaurants, atm, post office, alimentari etc). People who live here farm the land and grow their food.

    We back up to a huge national park, so there is plenty of hiking. We also have small holes in the river that offer a dip, some of them quite beautiful.
    If you have a car you are just an hour away from the busy jet-set of Monaco, Nice, San Remo etc, or you can leave by bus in the early morning (7am) and return early evening (5pm). From Ventimiglia there is train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Per person, 15 hrs/week, buy your own food. With special projects it’s 25/hrs/week/person and food included. We agree on terms before you arrive.

Host ref number: 482153641997

Feedback (11)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)













Join my agroforestry project and learn about natural building techniques in Semproniano, Italy
Music and Yoga in eco-trullo in Apulia, Italy