Helpa family with everyday life in a small town near the sea in Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm 68 years , I live in a small town in SW Iceland. I spend a few hours per day building a house close by and do some office work. I have 5 kids and 7 grandchildren. All of them have moved away from home. One daughter lives next door, (2 boys, 7 and 9). Otherwise I live rather isolated. One of my daughters ( 3 kids 7, 4 and 2 ) is coming to live here nearby in january.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about Iceland, learn about nature, learn about Icelandic food (especially vegetarian since we are), learn about outdoors, hiking, swimming in the local hotpots.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to find a nice, helpful and positive person, to stay for free in exchange for some help with cleaning, general help and children care. Some light maintenance work . My daughter would also appreciate some help with cleaning and teaching/drivning kids. Cooking skills would be greatly appreciated and at home we are vegetarian. We don't have high demands, 2/4 hours per day would be great and if the volunteer would like to have a day off that's no problem.

    We look forward to meet you and exchange experiences and learn new cultures/ways of living. We are relaxed and flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private room/bath in our house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    About 300 m to the Atlantic ocean of South Iceland with unigue shoreline with great views. The biggest lavafield in the world after the last iceage is visible here (thats an interesting fact). In our town Stokkseyri there is a swimmingpool ( which espesially my father is frequent user of ), a gas station, a restaurant and art galleries, even possible to go kayaking. There are local buses quite regurlarly to the next town with 15 min driving distance to a town with supermarkets and all common services. One hour from the capital Reykjavik. All Southwest Iceland within reach of 1 or 2 hours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, a few days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 583595311443