Help on old farm in Masfjorden, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 179 times
  • Last activity: 27 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    On the small private island Raunoy I have an old farm approx 1 hour north from Bergen, on the western coast of Norway. My father is the main owner, and this place is his birth place and where he grew up. We now use the island as a summer residence, so there might be short periods you will be on your own when we need to go back home for work. You can only get here by private boat, and I or my father will pick you up on the main land. No public ferry or possibility to arrive by car.

    On the island you will meet my dog, one or two cats, some goats, hens and sheeps. While staying at our place, you can use the small island boat for fishing and traveling to the main land, or you can stay on the island were you can walk in the forest, take a swim (or snorkeling if you dare the water temperature) and feel free and close to nature. There are no cars out here, and only two houses on the whole island. Our house is occupied with 7 bedrooms (so you can have your own), kitchen, living room and bathroom. We have TV and 4G wifi. We get our water from collection tanks, and have hot and cold water to shower and wash with, but to drink we bring water from the main land.

    We also provide an Artist in Residence program, with the option to work on an art project of your choice in the field of filmmaking, design, writing, or songwriting. Artists in Residence will be expected to do fewer hours on farming projects to provide time for their projects. We welcome artistic expression and are willing to be a part of artists’ projects as requested. Please submit a request with a description of your art project and its connection to our location.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience a local Norwegian family. Possibility to take the bus to Bergen and the surroundings in an easy way (short way from Salhus, a bit longer from Masfjorden). From both places you have many possibilities to go hiking in the mountains, and on the island you wil be close to the sea where you can swim, snorkle, paddle, or go fishing with the small island boat.

  • Help


    The boat dock: Fixing with a new cement pillar and wooden stocks. This will be heavy, but not difficult work.

    Water tanks: We collect fresh water from rain to water tanks. This year we will supply the farm with more tanks, and need help with the freight and water pipes installation process.

    Carpenting: Fixing a fish nest storage, fixing roof on the shower house, and carpenting inside on the boat house.

    Cement casting: We need to fix the cement floor in the old barn, to use the area for retreats later this summer.

    Concervation farming: This has been a farm once, but unused for over 30 years, it's not easy to start over again. If you have skills in farming, we really need your help.

    General maintenance: On an old farm there is always work to do :)

    Painting the house and finishing a terracce we started to build 22.

    Cleaning up outside after the work projects. My dad have heart issues and can't carry heavy things, so someone to help him with this would be nice.

    Fixing the small garden. A small garden in back and front of the house need someone who love gardening to fix it up. In July/August we need help with picking berrys ;)

    Clear up a basement and make it ready for storing. My mother has an alternative shop () that needs to be closed down this year. She will need help with making a netshop page on Shopify and moving all the shop items from the physical shop into a new storage place in our home basement, and put some of them in the webshop (with photos). If you have both IT knowledge to help here fix the netshop, and muscles to help the storage work, that would be great!

  • Languages spoken

    Norwegian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    RAUNØY is an old farm house with several rooms. You will have your own bedroom. Living room, kitchen and bathroom shared with the family and other workawayers.

    SALHUS is also an old house, with several apartments. Here you will live in my parents apartment, but have your own bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen and living room will be shared with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You get to Raunøy by taking the bus 345 (Andvik) to Masfjordnes where you will be picked up by private boat. There is no public transport to the island, and not possible to get there by car (but you can of course take the car to Masfjordnes and park there if you have a car with you).

    To Salhus you take bus 36+35 from Bergen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have dog and cats so you can’t be allergic. Dogs that don't harm the island animals, are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 571542561989

Feedback (7)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us to be self-sufficient in Halden, Norway
Help needed at Shamanic Centre in Norway