Join our group of families to share the good and simple country life in the Alps, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody! We are a young family with 3 children living together with other families in a previously abandoned "Borgata" (a hamlet of old farmhouses) in the Italian Alps. We often share meals and work together on the surrounding land.
    It's an idyllic, sunny spot above the valley with view into the surrounding mountains. One may get the impression of being out of touch with the modern world as we renovated our houses ourselves mostly with natural materials! However we are still not far from the the next small town (half an hour by walk), about two hours by public transport from Torino. We continue refurbishing the houses and do gardening on our land, play with the children, enjoy life and some more.... In the surrounding area there many other people living their own versions of the dream of the simple life in the countryside. Depending on the season there are plenty of beautiful walks that can be done and opportunities for rope climbing, ice skating, taking a bath in the river, going to the market or the occasional festival in town etc.
    In our daily lives we speak mostly Italian (in our family also German) and as foreign languages we can also communicate in English, French and Spanish!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Having found a place to settle down and having arrived in family life, we currently don't get to travel as much anymore as we used to. To keep up the refreshing spirit of exchange with new people nevertheless, we would like to welcome people from all over the world at our place, listen to their stories and share our stories with them.
    Besides, several members of our small community are part of a choir singing Italian popular songs (especially traditional partisan/anarchist/communist songs) that we'll be happy to share with you.

  • Help

    Help

    There are various things to be done and we'd like to accommodate as much as possible the preferences and talents that volunteers bring to us.
    That being said, there are the following things we could use help with in particular (you can choose and won't necessarily need to be doing all of them!):
    - gardening (spring/summer): we cultivate as much of our own food as we can and that involves a lot of work in our beautiful gardens
    - rebuilding stone walls: the land has been terraced by generations of farmers and work is needed to repair and rebuild collapsed walls
    - wood work (autumn/winter): there is a big demand for firewood that needs to be transported and chopped, and we continue clearing overgrown pastures
    - building: we keep on improving on our houses
    - looking after and playing with the children: there are currently nine children between 1 and 12 years
    We would like our guests to come with and open mind and flexibility to adapt to the current situation that they will find here!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will stay in our yurt (a big, sturdy tent traditionally used as a home by Mongolian nomads).
    It is equipped with mattresses, cushions, blankets and a wood stove. Thus the level of comfort is fairly basic but it's also a nice a rustic, cosy experience to stay in the yurt! There is space for 1-3 volunteers and the possibility to cook for yourselves in case you wish to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Come and look

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 869355727491