updated  

Help us to train and take care of our Papillon dogs in Telemark, Norway

  • Favourited 212 times
  • Last activity: 4 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    The family consist of me, Marit, my husband Eystein, who is blind, a Labrador guide dog and a pack of Papillons, at the time 9 in different ages, and also litters with puppies now and then.

    Eystein has been working as a fysiotheraphist for 43 years, but not anymore. He helps me with the dogs, and are walking them together with his guide dog. I also have some companies to run, and he is a great support also when it comes to my coatching business, Trivialogos and my work with clean energy from Thorium, which I have taken over after my father.

    We have just moved to a new house in the country side in beautiful Telemark. There is of course a lot of things to do to make everything in order, inside and outside the house. It's not always that easy since I have a broken ankle and Sjögren, an autoimmune disease, and Eystein is blind. So maybe workaway would be the way to go?

    We live by Norsjø, about 2 km from First Camp Norsjø. It's a big lake, surrounded by the beautiful Norwegian nature which we gladly help you to discover. If you want to find out more about Telemark, go tot Visit Norway: "Telemark".

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you have a driving license you can sometimes borrow the car and get around. You can walk in the nature, and see mountains and the lake from our house.

    I have been a breeder for more than 30 years, and previously for over 10 years been a leader and breeding council. I am very interested in genetics and do a combination only if I think this will add something positive to the breed. All my dogs are DNA-tested. Dog Show is not only a virtue out of necessity, but has also been an enjoyable hobby over the years. I am also a ring steward and an instructor in obedience, and a fan of clicker training. If you have future plans of showing and breeding, I will be more that happy to share my knowledge with you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for one or two responsible, reliable, sporty, and positiv persons, that can stay for 3-4 weeks, or maybe longer. You have to love dogs, and would like to help us with training and taking care of our Papillons, which also includes cleaning, fixing things and maintenance work in and around the garden and house. You will help with walking the dogs, socialize and feed the puppies, and looking after them if we need to go some where.

    We prefer somebody with experience with dogs, but it is not a must. If you want to learn, I'll teach you. You are flexible, because every day is different. You are independent and can work alone.

    As a physiotherapist, Eystein has a lot of knowledge, which he will be happy to share. He also has experience with diets related to various diseases, and psychological problems among many other things. We both likes good discussions.

    If you think this would be perfect for you, we would love to hear from you!

    Send us an email about yourself: Who you are, and your working experience. A photo of yourself would be nice. If you have more information to give, that is always welcome!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our workawayers will sleep in a guest room in our house. You will have your own bathroom with a shower. Bedroom with 2 beds, so there are room for a couple or two friends.

    We will provide food, and you'll be able to taste traditional Norwegian foods, as well as healthy meals with low GI. All food will be gluten-free, and very little diary. We do eat fish and some meet, but if you don't we find a way.

    You will have access to internett, so take your laptop with you. If you want, you can work remote or study in your spear time as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can walk right into the nature, with or without a couple of dogs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi-connection can be used, also for remote work and studies.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If you are bringing your own car, it is parking space for that.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 832138927615

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Join us on our permaculture homestead near Oslo, Norway
Cat care and enjoy nature in Sortland, Norway