Come and help with old cars, gardening, old books in Piltene, Latvia

Country

Latvia

updated  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living with my life partner now 18 years in Latvia, children are grown up and abroad. I am collector of old books, old cars and a writer concentrating on Philosophy. My life partner likes gardening but could need some help because of big areal, and needlework. House is the oldest in our small town, several times over- and rebuild full of history so no Euroremont is planned at all. We are not addicted to things, to any lifestyle, just trying go through this little time on earth. We have some latvian friends, so traditional hot steam bath is possible. Producing homemade wine from strawberry or apples is possible in july and autuum.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You are able to have a look in the old books world, as well by this in the history of the baltics. Improvisation is the basic of my life and so you might learn things to run without perfectionism but with improvisation, old cars, old house ...
    Beside I am a Philosopher and opend for discussions about life, death, aims and eternity.

  • Help

    Help

    As a collector of old books I need to make some photoshots from the books inside. There is also some outside work, preparing wood for the winter heating. As well maybe assistance in old cars repairing and producing some home wine.
    Also of many things had been collected in the last decades, there need to be sorted.
    Possibly some repair works on old house. Depends all on the weather, interest and motivation.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in first floor with WC and cold water. Downstairs is bathroom for showering or bath (wood heating). Wifi in house. Also possible to live in my old Travel bus (Setra S80) with small kitchen and beds.
    If someone has special wishes, vegan etc. he has to organize himself, we have a traditional mix of german - latvian food, sometimes, meat, sometimes fish sometimes just vegetable, open for new ideas, recepts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    House is located 2 min from next shop, 3 min. from bus stop, bus goes 5 times the day to next big town Ventspils (25 km). Ticket one way is 1,65 EUR. Bikes ar able to use from my house. Car is possible to use, depends on driving experience. Boat is as well for River Venta, which is 2 km from house. Direct way to coast is 15 km, I do it often in summertime as an day excursion with bicycle and crossing the river with raft.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 557486229927