Eco-construction and small farming with a group of friends in La Feuillée, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello hello, We are at this moment a shared house of friends, made up of Lucas, 29 years old, cabinetmaker in construction of his workshop, in couple with Tesch, 32 years old, nurseryman of vegetable and medicinal plants, Joris, 28 years old, mason earth who builds the said workshop of Lucas, and Chola, the singing dog of the house, and of course the chickens, geese, sheep, guinea pigs, who prefer to remain anonymous. Last winter, we took over a micro-farm with certain infrastructures and an orchard and want to give it our touch. We produce a small part of our fruits and vegetables for the moment (yeah yeah, it's the beginning ...), in the plant nursery and garden we need help especially in spring and early summer (we sell on 2 markets in the area). Then it suddenly calms down and we spend our time weeding, tending, chasing the sheep in the vegetable garden and playing Frisbee. At the moment, it's harvesting and processing, a few transplants, but above all the construction of Lucas's workshop (yes, we fear the Breton rain!).

    Hello hello,
    Nous sommes a ce moment une colocation d'amis, composée de Lucas, 29 ans, ébéniste en construction de son atelier, en couple avec Tesch, 32 ans, pépiniériste des plants potagers et médicinaux, Joris, 28 ans, maçon terre qui construit le dit atelier de Lucas, et Chola, la chienne chanteuse de la maison, et bien évidemment des poules, des oies, des moutons, des cochons d'Inde, qui préfèrent rester anonymes.
    Nous avons repris hiver dernier une micro-ferme avec certaines infrastructures et un verger et souhaitons lui donner notre touche. On produit une petite partie de nos fruits et légumes pour l'instant (ouais ouais, c'est le début...), niveau agricole c'est le speed surtout au printemps quand il y a la pépinière a gérer (on vend sur 2 marchés dans le coin) et l'installation des cultures en même temps. Puis, ca se calme d'un coup et on passe notre temps a désherber, entretenir, courir après les brebis dans le potager et jouer au frisbee. En ce moment, c'est la récolte et les transfos, qq transplantations, mais surtout la construction de l'atelier de Lucas (oui, on craint la pluie bretonne !).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Before our current project, Lucas and Tesch did something completely different, left everything and traveled for 2 years in Latin America as wwoofers / workawayers and then as hosts in the Peruvian jungle. These 2 years have taught us a lot of things as you can imagine, we have become self-taught on many levels by force. In particular, Lucas for woodworking and Tesch for plants (especially medicinal ones). And Joris is super savvy on everything related to construction (architectural studies) and earthen material (training in old masonry), it looks like he's a little in love with her ... So there you have it, already quite a bit things to share with you if you are interested.

    Avant notre projet actuel, Lucas et Tesch ont fait tout autre chose, tout quitté et voyagé pendant 2 ans en Amérique Latine en tant que wwoofers/workawayer et ensuite comme host dans la jungle péruvienne. Ces 2 ans nous ont appris pas mal de choses comme vous pouvez l'imaginer, on est devenu autodidactes sur plein de niveaux a force. Notamment, Lucas pour le travail du bois et Tesch pour les plantes (surtout les médicinales). Et Joris est hyper calé sur tout ce qui concerne la construction (études d'architecture) et le matériel terre (formation en maçonnerie ancienne), on dirait qu'il est un peu amoureux d'elle... Donc voila, déjà pas mal de trucs a partager avec vous si ca vous intéresse.

  • Help

    Help

    Yes, the said workshop needs a boost. So we are looking for people to help with traditional masonry, hand framing, and all that follows (shingles, plaster, etc.). Experience in the field welcome but not required. We do everything by hand and use modern machines as little as possible. Our days are busy, we work between 7 and 8 hours a day. After breakfast, everyone goes to their respective or common site (depending on the urgency of the moment). Between noon and 2 / 3pm it's the break: we eat, we discuss, we read, we nap, and then, we continue on what occupied us during the morning until the time of the evening meal. Always everyone together.

    Et oui, le dit atelier a besoin d'un coup de boost. Donc on cherche du monde pour aider avec la maçonnerie traditionnelle, la charpente a la main, et tout ce qui suit (bardeaux, enduit, etc.). Expérience dans le domaine bienvenu mais pas obligatoire. On fait tout a la main et on se sert le moins possible des machines modernes.

    Nos journées sont bien remplies, on bosse entre 7 et 8 heures par jour. Apres le petit déjeuner, chacun part sur son chantier respectif ou commun (selon l'urgence du moment). Entre midi et 14/15h c'est la pause : on mange, on discute, on bouquine, on sieste, et ensuite, on continue sur ce qui nous a occupé pendant la matinée jusqu'à l'heure du repas du soir. Toujours tout le monde ensemble.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have all the attic at your disposal in peace. The equipement ist very simple : a bed and a lamp but we can add you stuff if you need. Otherwise, you can also pitch your tent or your truck wherever you want on the ground. The toilets are outside and dry, the shower inside and wet-hot. Bring your boots and / or work shoes, work clothes and gloves if possible.

    The food is always shared and we take care of it. For special wishes please let us know inadvance, also if you want to eat outside or alone there is no problem. No worries also with vegetarian ou vegan food, just be prepared that we also eat meat from time to time, but most of the time it's vegetarian.

    As a side note: we use modern technology like everyone else, but we like laptops and computers to stay away from shared spaces like the kitchen and living room. For us, these are places that are used for sharing. No problem to withdraw to make calls, write messages, send photos etc. but not when you have a human in front of you. Anyway, there is no wifi in the house ...

    Tu auras tout le grenier a ta disposition au calme. L'équipement est tres simple : il y a un matelas et une lampe mais on peut t'ajouter des choses si t'as besoin. Sinon, tu peux aussi poser ta tente ou ton camion ou tu veux sur le terrain. Les toilettes sont dehors et sèches, la douche a l'intérieur et mouillée-chaude. Amène tes bottes et/ou chaussures de travail, vêtements de travail et gants si possible.

    Comme petite info a part : on se sert de la technologie moderne comme tout le monde ajd mais on aime bien que les portables et ordinateurs restent loin des espaces partagés comme la cuisine et le salon. Pour nous, c'est des endroits qui servent au partage. Pas de problème de se retirer pour faire des appels, écrire des message, envoyer des photos etc. mais pas quand t'as un humain en face de toi. De toute façon, il n'y a pas de wifi dans la maison...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Apart from where we live, we take care of a lot with events in the area or at home. The Monts d'Arrée are very lively with concerts, shows of all kinds and the festnoz of course and we like to add our touch. Soon, we are organizing a cinema and a show under one of the greenhouses, for example. Once a week, there is capoeira class on the place too and you may have to participate in a piz-zic evening (pizza in our bread oven and home-made music) which happens quite regularly. It's clear, we like to eat and have fun, so there are often people at home. Otherwise, it is 10 minutes by car / 30 minutes by bike from Huelgoat, the nearest village with service. The rest is woods, embankments, fields, rivers. Lots of walks to do. If you can be autonomous with your vehicle, that's the best, but in an emergency, we can help you out.

    A part de notre lieu de vie, on s'occupe pas mal avec des évènements dans le coin ou chez nous. Les monts d'Arrée sont bien mouvementées avec des concerts, spectacles de toutes sortes et les festnoz bien entendu et on aime bien y ajouter notre touche. Bientôt, on organise un ciné et un spectacle sous serre chez nous, par exemple. Une fois par semaine, il y a cours de capoeira sur le lieu aussi et vous risquez de devoir participer a une soirée piz-zic (pizza dans notre four a pain et musique faites maison) qui arrive assez régulièrement. C'est clair, on aime bien manger et nous amuser, du coup il y a souvent du monde a la maison.
    Sinon, on est a 10 minutes en voiture/30 minutes a vélo de Huelgoat, le village avec service le plus proche. Le reste c'est des bois, des talus, des champs, des rivières. Plein de balades a faire. Si tu peux être autonome en véhicule c'est le top mais en urgence, on peut te dépanner.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 781425946796