1 / 4
updated  

Help around our home and turn the jungle outside into an eco friendly garden in beautiful Wellington, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 115 times
  • Last activity: 28/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    **Currently looking for helpers who can help with any home renovation tasks - sanding, plastering, painting, hanging wallpaper, flooring, hanging doors, replacing shed roof, fencing, lanscaping etc or if you are more outdoorsy let me know what you enjoy doing and your preferred dates and will let you know if I can host :) We hope to meet you soon!**

    I am from the uk originally but came to Wellington for a week around 20 years ago and didn't leave!

    I am generally pretty laid back- and in the evenings I enjoy relaxing with a cup of tea. I love to hear about different cultures and life experiences. A bad back has meant I can't do as much as I used to physically.

    That and other priorities has meant the home and garden needs a bit (ok...a lot) of love and skill. If you tell me what you enjoy doing am sure we can find a perfect project!

    Location-wise there is a local walking track nearby and 2km down hill to the local beaches (good for surfing) and marine reserve (good for swimming/ snorkeling) and the same distance to local bars/ shops or 5km to Courtenay place / Cuba street (Wellington CBD) or Airport. Bus service runs hourly during the day.

    On street parking (free) available if you have a car or campervan.

    Boardgames (Catan is the current favourite but open to others!) and exchanging travel stories (both past and planned) are available - or can give you some space to chill on your own if you prefer.

    My 17yr old son lives with me currently although he also spends some time at his Dads.

    Look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love meeting new people and hearing about their culture and life experiences.

    I do work full time so usually working weekdays but always make time in the evenings to catch up and chinwag.

    Happy to introduce you to Settlers of Catan and when my son is home he will often explain more about the NZ culture. We can also show you how to make soda bread on request.

  • Help

    Help

    Current preferred focus is replacing shed roof and sanding/ plastering/ painting. There are lots of other mini projects to choose from depending on your skills and preferences...and how long you would like to stay in the coolest little capital city in the world!

    Outdoors my goal is to transform the current jungle like, messy garden into a well balanced, maintable eco friendly garden (space to chill/relax, space to grow and maybe even a self filtering pond / water feature)...I have a rough idea based on permaculture principles but need someone who is handy on the tools and capable to make it happen and perhaps bring a little vision of their own! Would love it if some of the existing materials can be repurposed as much as possible.

    Over summer I would love any helpers who can sand / prep / paint the house exterior - and to get caught up on general house maintenance. If you have landscaping or fencing experience this could be handy too!

    There is plenty on the to do list for indoors if you are not a fan of gardening etc too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Always happy to learn a new language and to help others practice their English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Happy to accommodate individuals or couples or can make arrangements if you are travelling as a small group of friends - just let me know.

    Private room with shared facilities.

    Our home isn't flash and is a little tired with a lived in look but it has everything you need to relax, make/ eat/ share meals, play boardgames (or read a book) and of course sleep. Depending on when you visit it may be just me or my son may also be home.

    Accommodation and food/ shared meals (will stock up with the usual food items including fresh eggs from our chickens if they are laying and happy for us to cook together in the evenings if you would like - we love to learn new recipes and techniques!) in exchange for 3.5hrs / day (5 days a week).

    Happy to be flexible on times etc so you also get to enjoy Wellington while here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Singles, couples, friends (up to 3 at a time) or families are all welcome.

    Must be ok with cats (we have 2) and chickens are in the garden too. Occasionally a dog comes to stay too.

    I eat poultry and some seafood but not red meat like pork/ beef/ lamb (but the kids do so no issues if you do!). If you are vegetarian or vegan you are welcome (please be aware there will be meat in the home and pet chickens in the garden who lay occasionally but mainly freeload and look pretty these days).

    Maybe you can help teach me some of your favourite vegetarian or vegan recipes (I attempted to make vegan aquafaba meringues recently and they failed miserably but determined to try again!).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fibre internet and have a dining table you can work from if required

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Free on street parking is available if you have a car or campervan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Please get in touch and let me know more about your pet(s) and will confirm if it will work. We have 2 cats, some chickens and an occasional small dog visitor here (she is here currently until end January).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3.5 hours per day per person, 5 days a week (can be flexible to help you enjoy Wellington too)

Host ref number: 555855317268

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help with renovating a property in Northland, New Zealand
Help us with our re-vegetating and re-wilding project on a former farm in the wonderful Dart-Rees Valley, New Zealand