Help me with some general farm chores in Upper Hutt, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 423 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    66  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I generate some of my own power with solar electric and solar hot water, make muesli, laundry detergent, soap, jams, preserves, seed saving, grow beef and vegetables and keep bees for honey.While I do these things I don't do them every day as farms are seasonal. I have a variety of animals and general jobs that are ongoing and various.
    Also I have about an acre of pyo (u pick) blueberries. Helpers have helped finish the conversion of an old train carriage into a tiny house which is wonderful but the outside now needs painting to finish it off, it is time to prepare the house vegetable gardens for planting and I am also establishing a small permaculture food forest. This is a small farm but I generate all of my income from it so is an example of how to do that if you are interested. Fred and Wilma are the dogs and they love helpers and are super friendly.

    Vegetarians welcome and smoking is ok outside.

    My times for hosting are for you to arrive on a Monday evening and leave on a Monday. If I am collecting you from Silverstream train station I will need to collect you from there at 6pm. I tend to stick to this schedule because if there are several helpers everyone isn't then having different days off and you can spend your days off together exploring Wellington or just relaxing. Having Sunday and Monday as days off enables you to go to town and sort out banks, going to your embassy and other things that require a week day to do.

    This is an organic farm so principles of composting, eating seasonal food, composting toilets, reduce, reuse and recycle are things that are done on a daily basis.

    Cell phone reception is vodafone and spark not 2 degrees.
    I enjoy a good laugh but appreciate my privacy in the evenings.Look forward to hearing from you soon.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Because I have been living an environmentally friendly lifestyle for so long it is normal for me so I don't always think to point out why I do certain things so please feel free to ask a lot of questions. Look around you and observe. This is a busy little place with a lot going on behind the scenes.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a variety of animals and general farm chores that are on going and varied. Currently the house vegetable garden needs preparation for planting, a train carriage needs painting and I an establishing a small permaculture food forest.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in the main house but there is a separate nice area for workaways. I am not vegetarian but vegetarians are welcome with appropriate food supplied. Smokers welcome if you smoke outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As there is no public transport to the farm I can collect you from Silverstream Railway Station. This is on the Upper Hutt Railway Line & about 40 min out of Wellington Central. I can meet you outside the Charltons pub across the road from the train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)














































Host ref number: 158469352833