1 / 4

Help at our lovely home and gardens in Kildare, Ireland

  • Favourited 24 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hard working happily married couple Brendan and Kellie looking for help to manage our truly unique place in Kildare, Ireland. We are both well educated professionals while in our 50's and 60's are young at heart and are full of enthusiasm.
    We live in a lovely old house with big gardens. We need help to maintain these gardens. The gardens contain orchard trees, grapes, hops and a poly tunnel.
    We have 2 small dogs who need company, attention and playtime. Our workaway guest must really adore animals and especially dogs. They will stay with you as their friend when we cant be home so you must love to be around these two lovely characters and engage with them as real family members.
    We have a brewery onsite and produce world class beers as one of our professions is brewing but we have many hobbies and skills that we can pass on.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Main features of our place are
    Food & Nutrition including growing and cooking. Nutrition and health food.
    Brewing & food science with pilot brewery onsite.
    Renewable energy projects solar, heat pump and automation
    Gardening and Growing Including grapes hops and orchard
    Historic town with cathedral and 1000 year old round tower
    Convenient to explore Dublin city. We can take you on trips to City, mountains, lakes and rivers all withing 1 hour commute.
    The house over 100 years old and was built by the British army after 1900's
    Kildare is the heart of Irish horse racing and breeding.
    rivers and historic canals 10km, lakes and mountains nearby 30-40km.
    Public transport bus & Rail in Kildare town 1-2km

  • Help

    Help

    Help includes Gardening, general maintenance, and helping out with our two small dogs who don't like to be left alone at home. You must be a dog lover and you would be expected to engage and socialise with our two well-trained and well-mannered small dogs. It is anticipated that at least one hour formal play time each day split in two sessions morning and evening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Choice of accommodation:
    Room in main house
    Luxury Caravan embedded in garden (Weather dependent)
    Apartment, Summer months only
    All accommodation is comfortable and well equipped.
    Wifi Internet is available and the download speed is restricted to about 5 Mbs which is fine for surfing, video calling and general internet tasks. It is Not super-fast and is not unlimited.
    Food will include a generous and healthy family breakfast and evening meal usually at a set time.
    The showers and toilets are clean and well equipped.
    Guests can enjoy a sociable beer with us as we brew the finest beer onsite. Its important to note that we cannot tolerate any drink related mis-behaviour and we only accept drinking of alcohol in a sensible and safe manner in and around our home.
    We will do everything possible to make your stay friendly, comfortable and a great memorable experience.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots for workaways to do. Excellent local transport, Lots of local history. Dublin less than 1 hour on bus and 30 minute on train.
    On weekends we can take you to local interesting places.
    Walking distance from house to town to access transport, shops, pubs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our yard can accommodate camper van up to about 8 metres long. Water, waster disposal, level dry ground and beautiful garden are available. Electricity would be limited to and 220 volts and 5 amps as our whole property runs on solar and battery we do not have and unlimited supply of electricity in the yard.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 545263675219

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Join our family in the countryside near Midleton, Co. Cork, Ireland
Help on our mixed regenerative farm on the stunning Dingle Peninsula, Ireland