Family looking for some help with our home and animals in Cercal do Alentejo, Portugal

  • Favourited 109 times
  • Last activity: 30 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a family of three living on a small farm. We have all kinds of animals to help us keep the farm "trimmed". We have a vegetable garden we eat off, the whole year. We have lots of different fruittrees, and we are experimenting to make a food forrest. As we get older we need some help to keep everything in order and realize some new projects.
    We have a Holliday home we rent out in the season and will be your accommodation when you decide to stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a rural area in the Alentejo. We are surrounded by Portuguese farmers who haven't changed much in their way of living the last few decades. We are a from origin Dutch family and we are well integrated here. When you want to practice Dutch or English that's a possibility.

  • Help


    We really need help trimming fruittrees. We need help dredging the entrance of the pond. Cleaning the land in general, including mowing. Maintenance of the dikes in the stream. Help cutting hooves of sheep and goats. Cleaning stables, painting stables. We are currently building an outside bathroom.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The holiday home is detached and traditionally built with half a meter thick walls. This keeps the house nice and cool even on the hottest summer days and the heat from the stove inside in the winter.
    Outside, the house has two terraces with garden furniture and a barbeque . There is one south-facing terrace in front of the house, where there is always sun. There is also a terrace on the side of the house with plenty of shade, next to our orange grove, where the chickens (no rooster) and ducks have also found their home.
    The holiday home consists of two bedrooms . There is a spacious living-dining room with a well-equipped kitchen . A refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker are provided.
    You can use the modest library consisting of CDs, DVDs and books. For the books, leave one and take one with you. Cell phones have reception and a good wireless internet connection is available.
    For the cold winter evenings there is a comfortable pellet stove with thermostat.
    Bath and kitchen linen is changed twice a week, bed linen once a week.

    All the meals will be provided. Breakfast can consist of bread or fruit/cereal and yogurt. We have lunch together after work and this will be a tasty hot meal. For diner we provide bread and something on it and fresh soup.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are one kilometer from the center of Cercal do Alentejo . That is a 3-minute drive and a 20-minute walk. The central point in Cercal is the roundabout with a square where the main restaurants and cafes are located. The village has several supermarkets , a pharmacy , a bank , a post office and several other shops.
    The area is known for walking/hiking and cycling. Two of the "Rota Vicentina" trails pass right in front of our Quinta.
    We have two mountainbikes witch can be used.
    The Atlantic Ocean is a 15 minutes drive away. There are busses to Vila nova de Milfontes, Porto Covo and Sines witch are villages on the seaside with all kinds of activities. Surfing, Kayaking, boat trips and of course the beaches and swimming.

    We had some volunteers the last couple of years and are very enthusiastic about the people we meet. It was great to work, eat and "play" together and get things done. Lots of energie going round. We are looking to repeat the experience. At week days we start at 9.00 and work until 13.00 (with coffee break of course) One of us cooks for the rest and lunch will be served at about 13.00. In the afternoons every body does what he or she likes to do as in the weekends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    It is ADSL true a telephone line. 8 mb if we are lucky.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Enough space to park, but we are on a dirt road ( 300 meters) . The condition of the road varies.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 856277584364

Feedback (13)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help me fix up my plot of land in vibrant Sao Luis, Portugal
We have renovated our house and are now working towards tidying up our land, in the beautiful countryside in Portugal