1 / 4

Help me on my smallholding with gardening and feeding the animals in the Wicklow Mountains, Ireland

  • Ireland
  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 22/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I live on a 3 acre smallholding in the middle of the Wicklow Mountains in Ireland. I have 2 pet pigs, 2 donkeys and 17 chickens, as well as 2 dogs and a cat. I grow a wide variety of vegetables in raised beds and also in the polytunnel. Although there is no mobile phone coverage here I do have internet. I love to cook. Although it is very remote here, it does have its bonuses, e.g., dark skies so stargazing is amazing! Lots of wildlife to see as well. I

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think my home should be treated more like a retreat from the rat race. If they would like, I can teach them how to grow their own food, how to cook, how to care for animals.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for companionship as well as general help around my little smallholding, e.g., feeding the animals, sowing seeds, planting, harvesting vegetables etc. Nothing too strenuous.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two single beds in private room in my house. All other facilities, i.e., cooking, washing, etc., shared. I am happy to cook for the guests or for them to cook for themselves using the produce I grow if they wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's very remote, so no public transport, but I can collect guests from the train station. There are a lot of walking trails. I'm very easy going but my only stipulation would be NO SMOKING.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I, too, work from home and my computer is online all day without issues even though I rely on Satellite internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have room for any size campervan or motorhome and can also offer an electric hook up.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 533131871444

Photos

Feedback

Help us with daily life in County Wicklow in Leinster, Ireland
Join our family and experience in the beautiful Co. Cavan, the Lake District of Ireland