Help at our farm in Glean na Sidh, Valley of the Faeries

Country

Ireland

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live close to the border of Northern Ireland in an amazing area which has recently become the first Cross Border Global Geo Park in Europe, full of ancient sites and beautiful landscape. We have a small farm with horses, donkey, chickens, 2 dogs, a cat and a ferret. Our aims: to become self-sufficient and conservation. We have rare butterflies and orchids on the farm. In the local area there are deers, buzzards, peregrines, eagles and much more. We love to play music and to exchange stories. Andy is a tourist guide, Isabella is an Artist and a Holistic Therapist. We are vegetarians.

    Occasionally we hold events such as the Maypole dance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many benefits from cultural exchange, anything from horticulture to building, to history, site seeing of ancient places, myths and legends, music, healing, art and much more.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for self-motivated, reliable and responsible people to come and help us with our projects.
    One of our projects is restoring an old cottage.
    We prefer people with some skills in both building and gardening a little help around the kitchen.
    We are open to anyone with any skills they can offer.
    Please, no time wasters. Self-sufficiency is a way of life,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two Caravans, one with electricity (and electric radiator) and the other with a wood stove and no electricity (candlelight). A bedroom in the house depending on availability.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can visit the local ancient sites, if Andy is available he might be able to come along with you and give you a tour. We have bicycles which our volunteers can use during their free time. There are lakes and mountains that you can visit, there is an outdoor pursuit centre approximately 15 km away, where you might be able to go kayaking on Lough Allen (depending on availability) there are a lot of music festivals in the area.
    There is an art centre where you may be able to attend clay workshops and other art workshops or events.
    There are buses that will take you to big towns such as Sligo and Enniskillen, but anything else you can travel by bicycle or hitchhiking or taxis. Sometimes we may be able to bring you to some places, but only when we are able to do so.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day

setting up our first polytunnel

Host ref number: 518296675311