1 / 5

Share your masonry skills and help to restore old garden walls of my inherited family house in Anghiari, Arezzo, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 81 times
  • Last activity: 7 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I am from Florence but live in Rome with my husband (Norwegian) and three kids. The place, called Sigliano, is located in Toscana and belonged to my family since the XIII century, when I inherited it 10 years ago consisted mostly in ruins. I restored two buildings, which now my family uses as holiday place. There is a big villa dating 1500 which is still a ruin because we cannot afford restoration. The villa has a large hanging garden with stone walls all around partially destroyed. My objective is to rebuilt the walls utilizing the available stones, I would also like to learn some masonry skills so as to be able to continue the works on my own.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house is located close to the medieval town of Anghiari, 20 min from Arezzo, 1 hr from Florence and Siena. Plenty of art and gastronomic experience plus wilderness and quiet all around.

  • Help


    Property in Toscana countryside, I need masonry skills to restore/rebuild old garden walls. The walls are originally made by stones with the "a secco" technique, stones are available on the ground! A person/couple with very good masonry experience is a must! In the spring (May to June) I would also need some help in deep cleaning the whole place, after it being closed for six months. Also pruning, weeding and all kind of gardening help would be welcome!
    Please avoid contacting if you don't have the required skills or experience!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Norwegian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Independent room with double bed, living room/kitchenette and bathroom, external eating area. Food arrangements depending on the dates, when host and family are there (holiday period) meals will be in common, otherwise volunteers shall cook themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of art sites in the neibourhood and possibility of day trips. I can leave an off -road car suitable for short trips to reach bus stops or train station. local transportation not easy but feasible. The house is in the middle of a protected area with long walking tracks through woods and fields. The place is famous due to st. Francis of Assisi being hosted by my family in his pilgrimage from Assisi to La Verna.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have now installed Starlink, so connection is super good and unlimited

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 396922392885



Lend a hand with my permaculture project in Vetto, Italy
Help me learn Russian, Lithuanian or Latvian language in Asti, Italy