Help to create an art studio on a glorious forest near the lake and the beach in Belmont north, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 25 times
  • Last activity: 17 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    A lovely little acreage hoping to transform into an art studio to support those with disabilities. Set in a forest and 5 minutes from the ocean and the lake, the sound of birdsong is magical.

    You’d be staying in your own small apartment sized caravan (it’s about the size of my Tokyo apartment when I lived there!). It has everything you could need and so comfortable. A big double bed with soft cushiony underlay. Lots of pillows. Your own cooking space and fridge. Your own shower - but you won't want to use the caravan shower because there is a magical fairy garden shower outside that is just heaven to experience!

    I’m looking for help with the gardens. I know a lot about Australian native plants and can teach you about them. I’m also keen on building a geodesic zome if I meet the right person or people who are also excited for such a fun architectural and sculptural project.

    There’s always things to do. Organising is a big thing as the creativity runs high here! Would you like to organise a shed? Organise art supplies? Organise something else? We would love that!

    What do you like to create? Maybe you’d like to help make a mural? We have some great wall space ready to make art on!

    It’s a family home with one child - but it’s also a community with a 28yo, and two couples in their 40's who love art, culture and wellbeing. We have chickens, two dogs, lots of wild colourful birds and incredible lizards. We are dedicated to diversity and inclusion, so ensuring that people from all walks of life, abilities, gender identities, sexualities and political beliefs feel safe and welcome is so important to us.

    It feels like a resort in our beautiful paradise. We host art picnics, there’s a pool and a spa, we love music and gardening, the ocean and life.

    I’m a qualified school teacher, studying psychotherapy and counselling. I’ve lived in a variety of overseas countries. I’m also a qualified English as a second language teacher (TESOL) so I can genuinely help with your language skills in a natural, easy going way.

    Come, be a part of a dream with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    So much to learn here!
    Aboriginal culture
    Native australian plants
    Garden design and construction
    Firewood storage
    Language from a qualified teacher of TESOL
    Drainage and land works
    Construction of art buildings
    Mural making
    Learn to DJ?
    Acro yoga?
    Making wearable art
    What would YOU like to learn? Ask us!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Making things Like a fence or paving
    Creating new fun structures
    Painting a mural
    Let’s figure out how you’d like to contribute together?

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish, Portuguese, French, German ALL languages to be honest! We love to exchange culture, language, food and ideas.

  • Accommodation


    Luxury Caravan with big double bed plus bunks.
    Heated/ air conditioning. Has own fridge, cooking, shower etc but you’ll prefer to use the glorious outdoor fairy garden shower! It’s a whole artwork for you to enjoy.
    We have rooms in the house also but we think you would prefer your own personal space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to everything - shops, supermarkets etc but in a very private piece of glorious bushland.
    We are 20 mins from the city of Newcastle and it’s entirely feasible to do Sydney events on the weekend. There’s a lake that is perfect for kayaking and stand up paddle boarding (we have these!)- and a beach for swimming, exploring or surfing - both are 5 minutes away.
    We enjoy the birdsong and regularly host events so if the right creative loving people are here then you’ll enjoy that. (Learn to DJ, make art, create fashion etc!)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Excellent wifi. We have multiple office spaces. Plus private van.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Powered site in what feels like a glorious campground - hot showers etc

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Friendly dogs Other pets ok Chat with us!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Negotiable but at least 3 hours a day and no more than 5. Days of the week will depend on projects.

Host ref number: 496718559651



Help around our small semi-remote property in the NT, Australia
Enjoy the outdoors while helping at our family dressage barn 30 mins from Perth, Western Australia