Help in our family home in Katoomba, Blue mountains, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a musician, artist and live in a beautiful federation home in the Blue Mountains with my 23 yr old, a friend and adorable pets. Our home is located in Katoomba 2 blocks from town and 2 blocks from the national park. I am currently getting my home back in order after some flood damage. Repair work is finished but the house is still upside down with some painting and sanding needed and furniture moving. There is always general farm maintenance. I am also working on taming my garden a little.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's Autumn here at the moment and my garden is glorious. We are a very happy household and have adorable pets. I am a good gardener and painter but finding it harder to do on my own so I can skill people up in those two areas. We live in a beautiful old federation home set in beautiful grounds with an orchard, chooks and pets. I live with my daughter and another friend. I am a musician and artist so always welcome musicians to jam and artists who want to make an artistic imprint on my home. I am also an awesome vegetarian cook so can pass on some great recipes. I do not cook meat. Not all my meals are vegan especially as I have happy chooks so use the eggs, however, I can steer meals that way if I know in advance. There is no smoking on the property.

    Katoomba is home to the 3 sisters (echo point) the no. 1 attraction in NSW. We are about a 15-20 min walk from the 3 sisters we are also close to the National park entrance and the town centre (famous for good coffee and known as the slow food capital of Australia -not that you'll need that as I am a good slow food cook too). There are many good op shops and other interesting shops in Katoomba and nearby Leura. There are a number of top rate bush walks very close to us. I have basic maps. There is free live music 2-3 nights a week in Katoomba. Also my garden is a beautiful place to walk in.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Painter, gardener, stonemason and general helpers required in exchange for accommodation and vegetarian food in the beautiful Blue Mountains, NSW. I need help finishing off some simple panelling in 2 rooms downstairs. Also fixing some rickety stone steps in the garden and taming a few vines and putting in veggies in the garden. There is also a retaining wall needs supporting and some paving redone. A small amount of brickwork is also needed. There is also some painting required. There is always work maintaining the house and garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have accommodation for 2 in a queen bed in the house. Sometimes I can accommodate 2-3 more in another room with a queen bed and single mattress. The queen beds are very comfortable. I also have a 4 berth caravan but work s needed on that. Not as comfortable as the house but better than camping if I have a few people staying at once. In the past when I had a few people stay we had some real fun times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is best to email me / message me through this page as I am not always by the phone. If you leave a phone message, please make your number very clear and be prepared to accept a call from a public phone booth as returning mobile calls is tricky from home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day with 2 days off after 5 days.


Host ref number: 522641749269